1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

i'm so damn confused

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by SiLude, Jan 14, 2006.

  1. SiLude

    SiLude Senior Member

    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas biotch
    ok, i had 2 10's w/ a 450w amp. i switched to an 800w amp and my subs didn't work. i went back to the 450w and they still didn't work. i thought it was the subs so i went and bought 2 brand new kenwood subs. installed w/ the 800w amp and still not working. the amp has power, all the wires are snug. good ground. i don't understand. it was working 2 days ago, and now its not. the radio works fine, all my speakers work, just not the subs. and as far as i know the 800w amp worked fine before it was pulled, so any ideas????
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Hook it all up outside your car and see what happens.

    Maybe you have a signal cable that's disconnected?
     
  3. 92CHB

    92CHB Senior Member

    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Easthampton, MA
    I with Calesta, check the signal cable and also check the remote turn on lead. Some amps will have a light telling you that ther is power going to the amp even when the amp is not actually turned on.
     
  4. SiLude

    SiLude Senior Member

    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas biotch
    checked and rechecked everything. all fuses are good. all connections are good. do you think it could be the radio itself? i mean i don't see why its not working.

    edit: bought a new radio, still didnt work
     
  5. micah

    micah Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,513
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Location:
    panama city beach, florida
    you sure your wiring it to the right ohm load?
     
  6. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,036
    Likes Received:
    3,970
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    :withstupid:

    sounds like a signal issue
     
  7. SiLude

    SiLude Senior Member

    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Las Vegas biotch
    bought new rca's and still nothing. new fuses. replaced everything pretty much. i'm too frustrated with it so i'll bring it somewhere. spent almost a week trying to figure this out.
     
  8. neonmike

    neonmike Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    dumb question but did ya check inside the box to make sure the wires didnt come off the terminal inside. just a thought before ya brought it somewhere
     
  9. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2003
    Another trick to check what neonmike suggested... Take the wires off of the amp, and tap them to a 9volt or drill battery... You should see the speakers pop out if you have the polarity correct, or drop in, if you have the polarity reversed.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page