1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In Dash DVD

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by Judo_boy_48, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. Judo_boy_48

    Judo_boy_48 Senior Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    If I ground the e-brake wire, will I be able to watch dvd's while driving?

    Or is there some other wire that I need to ground?
     
  2. CarAudiophile

    CarAudiophile Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Since I no longer work in the Industry..

    What Manufacturer makes the In-Dash..

    3/4 of them you can just ground the E-Brake wire however put a switch on it incase you are ever pulled over by the fuzz you can switch it off and prove it doesn't work while driving.

    But Alpine is another story. And now I know Pioneer put in a Motion Sensor on their new models so that if it senses movement it will not play Video. Which is uber gay but smart on the other hand.

    But you did not hear this Info from me. :)
     
  3. Judo_boy_48

    Judo_boy_48 Senior Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    I got a CLARION VRX935VD. I know it is illegal I was just wondering if it was possible to do without touching the brain.

    If not tough shit for me then.
     
  4. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    try to see if it will work or ask noen mike he will know for sure
     
  5. Judo_boy_48

    Judo_boy_48 Senior Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    What will work? What CarAudiphile said?

    If so I'm going to try in a little bit when I get off work.
     
  6. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    i grounded my ebake wire and I can watch dvds on mine, so what I was saying was ground the "ebrake" wire and see if it works.
     
  7. Judo_boy_48

    Judo_boy_48 Senior Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Oh ok. Going to do it right now.
     
  8. neonmike

    neonmike Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    yep just ground the ebrake wire it will work fine. also for anybody else who has an indash there is a way around all of them even the new pioneers. if you need help ask me in a pm i will tell ya how to do it.
     
  9. Judo_boy_48

    Judo_boy_48 Senior Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Thank for helping guys. Works great.
     
  10. phyregod

    phyregod !!YTINASNI

    Messages:
    9,449
    Likes Received:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Location:
    Central Texas
    So whats the deal with alpine?? I was thinking of getting one.. Are they harder to "fix"?
     
  11. CarAudiophile

    CarAudiophile Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Alpine are different because they have two wires. There are things on Ebay called black boxes that work for them. Other than that you have to rig up something to make the Alpine works. Not difficult just a little more trouble.
     
  12. Judo_boy_48

    Judo_boy_48 Senior Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Well I dont want to start a new thread so...I got another problem now.

    The deck came with a seperate amp unit. It is about the same size as the deck.

    I dont know where to mount this thing. The wires are not long enough to reach under the seats so that is out of the question.

    I was thinking the glove box. BTW this is going in my Colorado not my CRX.
     
  13. neonmike

    neonmike Senior Member VIP

    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    114
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    put it under the carpet on the passenger side by the firewall. thats where i put em all and i never have anyproblems with them.
     
  14. Judo_boy_48

    Judo_boy_48 Senior Member

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    That is a pretty good idea. Never though of that.

    But, is it going to overheat while under the carpet?
     
  15. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    my brain is under the carpet and it doesnt over heat, so I think you be ok
     
  16. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    that explains everything :p

    but seriously, you shouldn't have a problem being under the carpet.
     
  17. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page