1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

inst. cluster

Discussion in 'Body / Exterior / Interior / Cosmetics' started by hondanamics, Aug 10, 2004.

  1. hondanamics

    hondanamics Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    i have a few questions. i belive canada uses the metric system so are there speedo and rpm gauges in kph instead of mph. if it is how hard would it be to put it in EX: plug and play or rewire where can i get one if this is true.
     
  2. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    What are you going to? US to Canadian, or Canadian to US? Either way I think clusters are plug and play... the only thing is, if the car is canadian, the speedo sensor will still read km/h so that might need to change depending on what you're doing
     
  3. hondanamics

    hondanamics Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    us to canadian is their somwhere u know of i can go to find out
     
  4. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Not off the top of my head, but as far as I know, you will have to change out the speed sensor from a MPH to km/h and the speedo from MPH to km/h. I have heard many times that clusters are just plug and play, not sure about the sensor.
     
  5. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    ya i have a us cluster in my car works good
     
  6. tdg

    tdg Senior Member

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    I'm curious as to why you'd want it? Does it look different?
     
  7. hondanamics

    hondanamics Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    i just want the kph thats really it ne one know where i can get one and to hcivic.com did u have to change the speed senser or ne thing or plug it up n it works
     
  8. hondanamics

    hondanamics Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    does ne boby know where i can get one from
     
  9. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    it plugd and played for mw then i went to mr speedo and had it calibrated for 123.00 bucks include parts and labour
     
  10. hondanamics

    hondanamics Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    does any one know where i can get one from
     
  11. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
  12. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    :withstupid:

    and just to restate what everyone else said- it's plug and play

    all EG clusters will plug into any EG and the same for any other generation i believe

    i'm currently running a JDM cluster which is obviously in KPH
     
  13. hondanamics

    hondanamics Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    slammed90lude where did u get yours from i just figured it would be cheaper to get a canadian one. how much did u pay for it
     
  14. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    i payed 160 for it from John (92b16vx)

    but they're all over ebay for about that price, or maybe even a little less

    since i live in america and the speeds are in mph, i've gotten really quick at dividing by 1.6 :)
     
  15. hondanamics

    hondanamics Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    i look at ebay but it couldnt find what i was lookn for do u have ne ideas of what i could type to find it ne help is greatly app. thanks
     
  16. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    do yuo need one i can try to get one a a bone yard up here
     
  17. hondanamics

    hondanamics Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    yeah that would be nice let me know how much it will be first though thanks
     
  18. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    You DO NOT have to change the speed sensor in the car. All it does is send a signal to the cluster, and the mechanical workings in the cluster translate it to read correctly to itself.

    So, if your driving with one cluster and it reads 30 km/h, the US cluster is going to read 18-19 mph.
     
  19. hondanamics

    hondanamics Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    let me know how much it will be first though thanks thank you 92b16vx everone has told me i need to get one but u im glad to here that thanks
     
  20. hcivic.com

    hcivic.com Senior Member

    Messages:
    4,571
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary Alberta canada
    what year and man or auto?
    and low miles or high
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page