1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installed some caching

Discussion in 'Site News, Updates, etc' started by Briansol, Jun 3, 2014.

Faster?

  1. yes

    5 vote(s)
    62.5%
  2. no

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. same/always been fast

    3 vote(s)
    37.5%
  4. same/always been slow

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    Does the site seem faster to you ?

    I hooked some back end data into xCache, some front end file caching of templates using Zend Core, implemented some expires headers on images, css, js files so they cache for 24 hours (don't download every page)

    I noticed a huge difference, but the butt dyno....
     
  2. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    With the way the interwebs works it's hard to notice such things.

    You're basically freeing up CPU cycles at the cost of memory. I've always found xcache to be a win no matter where i put it.
     
  3. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    We have a lot of ram, but not a very good proc and slow hard drives, so it makes sense to use the ram drive where possible.

    I noticed significant page rendering speed increase on the 2nd page load (after everything you pulled was cached)
     
  4. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,577
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i don't see any difference but i'm on a fast connection.
     
  5. whiterabbit06

    whiterabbit06 Why oh why didn't I take the blue pill? VIP

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    312
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Location:
    Crestview, Fl
    Is it just me or does the text seem a little bit smaller?
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,449
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    the only text I changed was on the pagination (so that 1000's could fit in the allotted space)
     

Share This Page