1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ip address question for all you geeks out there

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by Tonyd0821, Feb 12, 2004.

  1. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    i presently use dsl to access the internet.

    i just signed up an downloaded aol 9.0. (2 month free trial, i will cancel before that trust me...)

    the ip signature that i was giving off with my dsl account....

    will that be the same ip signature that sites use to identify me on my aol account?
    (with the dsl modem unplugged using aol 9.0 dialup)

    :blink:
     
  2. La_Pieuvre

    La_Pieuvre Senior Member

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX

    doubtful that your dial-up connection will have the same IP as your Broadband line.

    You'll most likely have a dynamic IP that changes everytime you log in.
     
  3. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    hmm ok lemme put it in this context....

    (not that i plan on getting banned from hondaswap ...it actually applies to something else)

    suppose im on my dsl, and i piss off brian so royally bad he bans me from hondaswap.

    i log onto my aol account, dial up and access hondaswap again.

    1. if i DONT post, and hondaswap keeps a log of all computers which visit...will my visit show up?

    2. can i post using the aol account?

    again, this is just an EXAMPLE....first one i could think of....

    so dont flame me for it
     
  4. Soichiro-Honda

    Soichiro-Honda Senior Member

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Location:
    Altamonte Springs, Florida
    Go to Start menu and click run, type in IPConfig. Thats if you want to know your IP.
     
  5. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    on win 98 se...

    typed in winipcfg

    and it gave me the same ip when i was on dsl , as i was on aol dial up...

    BUT

    went to a random pr0n site...

    clicked "sign up"

    and there is a little box beneath that shows my ip address for fraud prevention.

    went on the same porn site with my aol dial up, and the ip address as reported by the porn site was differnt than the dsl...

    go figure...
    :blink:
     
  6. La_Pieuvre

    La_Pieuvre Senior Member

    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    winipcfg will only show the internal IP address (especially if behind a router).

    if you want to check you public IP (which is different than your network IP assigned by a hub/router) go to http://www.ipchicken.com/ This is what the internet sees you as.
    Then again if you are directly plugged into the DSL modem you won't have to use this site, just winipcfg.

    Winipcfg probably still thought that you were connected through your network card. Make sure you select the proper card/modem in the drop down box in winipcfg.



    I'm pretty sure that bans only affect someone's IP and username. So connecting through another IP and diff. username would work.
     
  7. Slammed90Lude

    Slammed90Lude Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,733
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Location:
    milford, PA
    Tony....where are you getting banned from young man?
     
  8. TDaddy

    TDaddy Senior Member

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Location:
    California
    No.

    Your DSL IP address will be different than your Dial up. Your dial up from aol will assign you a dynamic ip address and will undoubtedly be different every time you dial up. When you do an ipconfig that gives you the assigned address of your ethernet card and so on. ;)
     
  9. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    nuthin much...just want to be able to surf the net with 2 dif. ip addresses.

    its a new trend im setting...


    jump on the bandwagon !!
     
  10. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003

    :D shoulda asked u in the first place...
     
  11. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    The way I understand it is...

    cable/dsl = static IP address. It stays the same all the time.

    dialup = dynamic IP address. It'll change everytime you dial up to the server you use. I used to get IP banned from a board all the time on dial up back in the day...I'd d/c and log back on in about 5 minutes. :D
     
  12. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,018
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    DSL is also dynamic
    but the way that they do the lease on IP addresses ... its likely that you will always keep the same one (unless you log off often for a long time)
     
  13. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    I guess the DSL will vary, around here it's a static IP. I have installed numerous DSL accounts around town in businesses and they all were 'always connected' and had static IPs. Maybe it's just the Choice One DSL I'm thinking about then. Verizon DSL might be dynamic.
     
  14. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,018
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT

    no see thats how it works ..... you get the IP for a pre set ammount of time
    when 5/8 (i believe) of that time goes by, it starts trying to renew the lease... if it does then you keep the IP... if it doesnt then it loses the lease and next time you connect you get a new one

    so if you are always connected then you will always renew the lease (keep the IP)
    if you log off for days at a time then you will not renew the lease (lose the IP and get a new one issued next time you log on)
     
  15. Tonyd0821

    Tonyd0821 Banned

    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    if i can complicate things further

    BUT

    back in the day i was on mirc chat rooms, and i got banned and i had aol dial up...

    and those fuckers banned me for good !!!
     
  16. jamesA

    jamesA Well known pissed off telephone guy VIP

    Messages:
    16,118
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003

    probably because they banned your IP on the ISP level, not the personal level. ;)
     
  17. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT

    easier than using a different ISP to get a diferent IP addy is to start proxy hunting.
    and use those addresses.
     
  18. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Let's start tracking people by MAC addresses...
     
  19. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,018
    Likes Received:
    3,948
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page