1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ipod in car

Discussion in 'Car Audio / Security / Electronic Accessories' started by pills_PMD, Jan 2, 2005.

  1. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    You might look into one of the new Alpine head units and their iPod module... that way you can upgrade the head unit at the same time.
     
  3. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    do you have any item #'s or links? thanks mike
     
  4. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    also, i forgot to mention that using the integrated controls (to the left of the steering wheel) is a function I would like to keep.
     
  5. kyleirwin

    kyleirwin Retired OG

    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    Vegas
    i have my ipod hooked up to my truck w/ that belkin car adapter thingy w/ a 1/8" to rca cable running to the input in the back of my alpine from the output on the car adapter. it's pretty much the simplest way of hooking it up other than one of those wack ass fm brodcaster thingys. as ghetto rigged as it sounds, it actually dosen't look all that bad (not that i care in my truck). but it would be super easy to hide all of it and just have a wire w/ the dock connecter coming out from wherever you want it behind the dash and you just control the songs and everything from your ipod and the volume with the deck. i guess i'll snap a picture later just 'cause.

    here's a link to the belkin thing: http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProductPage...oduct_Id=149006

    cal also has a point though, the alpine setup is pretty sick from what i've read about it... here's a link to that: http://www.alpine-usa.com/products/leading...ch_kca-420i.htm
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
  7. MaaseyRacer

    MaaseyRacer Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca.
    Just saw this on the S2K section of honda-tech, though you might want to read through this:
    http://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1101709
    Oh and in my roommates '03 civic, we went to radio shack, and bought a female head phone jack to male RCA adapter, and plugged it into the input jack on his Alpine deck. Then We drilled a hole in his dash and glued the female headphone jack adapter to a rubber gromit, put the gromit in the dash and it almost looks factory. We then plug the iPod into the headphone jack via a male to male head phone plug.
     
  8. h22bubbleback

    h22bubbleback Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2003
    Location:
    North Jerzey
    Belkin Tunecast FM transmitter....$30. But i dont care about anything unique and "cool", i just want the job done
     
  9. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX

    He doesn't want to use an FM transmitter.

    -----

    B's got the link.
     
  10. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    thanks guys. i don't object to using RCA's to the headphone jack, but i'm not sure if the s2 radio has aux inputs like that. i dont believe it does.
     
  11. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    I seriously doubt that the OEM radio has an auxiliary input. I'm getting the Alpine- especially if it works with my current 7998 head unit. If not, I may just sell it and get a newer Alpine, then plug in the iPod.
     
  12. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    it probably wont be possible to keep the controls next to the steering wheel huh?
     
  13. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Your first link says that you can keep the steering wheel controls- give them a call and find out.
     
  14. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i meant if i were to upgrade to the alpine unit. somehow still connect the external audio controls
     
  15. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    mini coopers's have the rca input on the back, and the Element actually has an AUX 1/8 input jack to hook up media like that. Alot of new cars are coming out with ways to attach MP3 players to them. For my iPod, on my POS awia deck has a 1/8 input jack on the front so I just hook it up through that. Take out your radio and see if you have any imputs back there. Older honda's don't but maybe the newer ones are diffrent. (Yea, I know that was alot of rambleing, but maybe it helped)
     
  16. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    yea i am sure someone on honda-tech will know if they have the inputs.. i dont believe they do.... and i was trying to avoid taking shit out if i dont have to. the car is all put up for the winter and i dont feel like going into it
     
  17. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX


    Oh. I don't know about that one.
     
  18. smooth_criminal

    smooth_criminal Senior Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002



    Yes you can. They sell a new wirharness that lets you keep the use of your steering wheel controls. I just put a atfermarket radio in my sisters accord and we used a specail wirharness that let her keep the functions on her steering wheel. Let me check it out and see were she got it from.
     
  19. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    great thanks man. if you could get me a link that'd be solid
     
  20. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    Just a thought Pills.

    Isn't there a way to hook in a CD changer on almost every new Honda by using the right harness? I would talk to a dealer and see if it is possible. If so, you could probably go the RCA jack route. I don't think you could control the IPOD with your steering wheel, but you would still have your stock setup.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page