1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is it worth getting an Athlon 64 right now?

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by seanjuan, Oct 2, 2003.

which processor to go with for good video editing use?

  1. AMD Athlon 64

    100.0%
  2. AMD Athlon XP

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Dual AMD Athlon MP

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Intel P4 w/hyper thr

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    I'm in the market for a new computer and want something that is going to be very good for video editing and at the same time stay under the $2000 price tag....

    I found a site monarch computers that puts together custom systems and flashes the bios and runs diags for 24 hrs and stuff before they ship to ensure the computer is up and running and they also offer a 3year part and labor for $50

    I set up a relly sweet system with an Athlon 64, 1gig of memory, 240gig of Seagate HD [too bad I can't get an employee discount on the drives], and a nice 128mb video card and dvd burner for $2046 {no monitor}

    seems like a good deal to me but I'm not sure if it's really worth getting the 64 chip because I don't know home much software is out there that would actually benefit from having a 64 bit processor and so most of the time it would be just doing 32 bit processing and then I might as well save a little money and buy a dedicated 32 bit like a 2.8 gig P4 with HT

    anyway, any of you have appinions about processors?
     
  2. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    If you're buying a new system and really need the power, maybe- but you're going to need to run a 64bit OS and get the 64bit software to really take advantage of it. I would recommend you get a P4 HT or a higher level AXP if you're worried about cash- especially since the software really isn't out there to take advantage of the A64 yet. The only real world advantage it has right now is slightly different pipelining and a larger cache.

    I doubt that Monarch could actually get the CPU to you immediately anyway- the A64 is mostly a paper launch right now, along with the P4 EE.
     
  3. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    noone has 64bit software yet, however XP64 (64 bit windows XP) is coming out soon I guess.
     
  4. seanjuan

    seanjuan Senior Member

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    that is pretty much what i figured

    I think i'll either go with a AXP 3000 or a 2.8 P4 with HT

    I can save a few hundred bucks that way and use that for a monitor

    this is my dad's money by the way, he want me to put a good computer together for him
    I wish I had 2k to spend right now :(
     
  5. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Just get a P4 2.4C and overclock the hell out of it. :lol:
     
  6. CRX-YEM

    CRX-YEM Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    4,623
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    I'd say it ain't worth it right now until there is more support for it.
    and the prices come down. Then it'll be worth every penny.
     
  7. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX

    :werd:
     
  8. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page