It's amazing at how much is communicated

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Long story short, I think I blew my head gasket on the way in to work today. I call the Toyota dealer and ask to speak to the service manager. I explain what happened to him and basically wanted to get a second opinion because I'm not entirely positive it's a blown head gasket, and immediately he focuses not on my problem, but on why I came to that conclusion. I explain to him that I've blown a few head gaskets in the past, and know what they sound like, and after a few times around with him indirectly telling me I'm an idiot, I tell him that I'm an ASE certified master tech and that I kinda sorta know what I'm talking about. THEN the conversation goes from what my car did to where I got my training and shit. I'm like, WTF? I ask him if he's going to help me or not, and he says that I'm probably not ASE certified because head gaskets don't make a sound when they blow. I just hung up and have been stewing about it since.

I need to go eat some raw meat... (only one person on here knows what that means)

<rm/rf rant>

Do you want me to get a head gasket for you down here in MA? lol. That way your local dealership won't be getting your business. There's a dealership in Watertown near me. Let me know...

Originally posted by Loco Honkey@Apr 30 2004, 11:26 AM
I just hung up and have been stewing about it since.

BTW... don't stew, don't let that idiot get to you and win. He is obviously a loser, but... it's his job to try to make you bring your car into them for service. They ALL do it... think about it. :)

Well, I'm happy again. I just went across the street to the shop over yonder and used their tools. Comp is ohkay numbah one! :) Wheee!