its not the bike its the rider

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

That's great. Being a scooter pilot, I can tell you that 1) he's lucky he didn't break his ankle, 2) he would have been able to turn tighter and not be so squirrly if he kept his feet where they should be and leaned forward more*, and 3) the sparks are Hollywood... it takes WAY more lean angle than that to get the stand to scrape on those things.

*Scooters are plagued with 60- 75% of their weight in the back due to driveline design and tank location. On a bike, weight over the front wheel will pretty much dictate how hard you can corner. On a scooter, it's critical that you get as much of your body weight forward as you can.

Originally posted by Loco Honkey@Dec 24 2003, 06:28 PM
he would have been able to turn tighter and not be so squirrly if he kept his feet where they should be and leaned forward more

Seriously... what a tard! Can you imagine seeing someone on a street bike stick their feet out like that?!

Originally posted by SasSi@Dec 24 2003, 07:27 PM

Seriously... what a tard! Can you imagine seeing someone on a street bike stick their feet out like that?!

I've seen it a few time, and it usually results in a spill. Then again, the reason for doing it, in part, is to sense the lean angle of the bike, so there is a reason. HOWEVER, if he were in the proper riding positing, he could use his knee like he would on a sportbike. I know this because I've dragged knees on scooters in full leathers going past a group of sportbikers hanging out on the inside of a turn. Boo yah!

scootburn.jpg

scootwheelie.jpg

Originally posted by Loco Honkey@Dec 24 2003, 10:07 PM
I know this because I've dragged knees on scooters in full leathers going past a group of sportbikers hanging out on the inside of a turn. Boo yah!

i know that turn :D :D :D

<--- looking forward to hitting that road again :)