1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jail broken iphone?

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by 92stoccord, Feb 23, 2009.

  1. 92stoccord

    92stoccord Big Member VIP

    Messages:
    4,595
    Likes Received:
    234
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Salem, Ohio
    Will the interweb still work on a network thats not at&t? lookin into it, but i just signed a 2 year contract with alltel in july, and i hate my phone already, and my manager broke my ipod.
     
  2. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    On the iPhone? Maybe if it's hacked. Maybe a Verizon phone would work with Alltel?
     
  3. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    a an at&t phone would work with all tel, then a verizon wouldnt.
    they are on two different types of networks.
    one being a cdma, the other being 3g or something..
     
  4. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I suggested Verizon because Alltel and Verzion or partners or something like that. Plus, Verzion offers 3G services too. CDMA can be 3G btw. You're thinking about GSM vs. CDMA.

    I believe both Verizon and Alltel are CDMA, someone correct me if I'm wrong.
     
  5. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    i know for a fact that verizon is cdma.
    and no, cdma cant be unlocked for 3g and vica versa.
     
  6. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    3G has nothing to do with CDMA. All it stands for is 3rd Generation. CDMA is the technology. Verizon does offer 3G; its CDMA2000 x1 EV-DO or something like that. I know this because I was actually looking into it.
     
  7. VTEC_CBR

    VTEC_CBR Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Yup. AFAIK jailbroken iPhones(which is what I have and love) will only work with AT&T and tmobile. Because they are on the same type of network.
     
  8. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    thats kinda what i said..
     
  9. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    No, you did not. You clearly stated 3G and CDMA were two different and separate technologies, twice.

    I could swear you edited your posts too; but looks like only a mod would be able to see it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2009
  10. MthaFuknGreen

    MthaFuknGreen Green on the scene.

    Messages:
    3,166
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Lodi, CA
    ..
     
  11. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    You still don't get it? The point was 3G does dictate whether it's 3G or not. I guess you can say 3G is the speed, while CDMA is the technology. What you were saying was CDMA is no way 3G, and 3G can not be used on CDMA networks.


    I guess that's enough of that though. Let's continue with OT?
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2009
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page