1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JDM amber clock...

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by scottp11, Apr 14, 2005.

  1. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Someone resently gave me their JDM amber clock. I figured since my CX just had a block off plate there, I might as well put it in. Well I hooked it up and it works, but it's really dim. I can't even see it in the day time (unless I push the button...) and can't see it at night if the head lights are on.

    Can anyone tell me what wrong? I used the factory wiring harness and nothing seems to be cut. Thanks for all your help.
     
  2. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    why did they GIVE you a jdm clock?
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Maybe that's why they gave it to you, because it was dying.
     
  4. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    He was parting out his 95 civic HB, he's trying to get a WRX STi. Anyway, do you have any clue? I should mention that I cleaned the battery terminals very well, and the car starts up fine. Always has.
     
  5. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    where did you tap into power at?
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    You don't have to, it plugs right into the OEM plug, even on models without factory clocks.
     
  7. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Right, I just plugged it in to the factory plug. It was in a "dummy spot" on the back of the block off plate. Any idea of what I can do? Thanks for all your guys' help!
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Open it up and change the bulb.
     
  9. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    Really? Is there a "bulb"? Are you just fuckin' with me? I'll check it though, I thought it was an LED... Thanks for your help.
     
  10. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    JFWY, but you can take it apart and look at the condition, see if it looks like it might be corroded or something been tampered with.
     
  11. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
    I should also mention that if I have my radio on, when I turn on the head lights, the radio shuts off for a second then comes back on. Could that be a bad ground???... I think if I fix this, maybe the clock will fix it self... (BTW, I only have a head unit and two door speakers.)
     
  12. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    use test wires and hook it up directly to the battery and see if its lighter, or test the voltage coming to the clock plug...

    if you go direct to 12 volt and its still too dim then crack it open and see whats going on inside..
     
  13. scottp11

    scottp11 The Seniorest Member....

    Messages:
    987
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Location:
    El Paso, TX now, originally from Fresno, CA
  14. drpenguin

    drpenguin Senior Member

    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Location:
    Salem, Or
    Is your little lite switch turned up? I have those luminescent gauge lay overs and i took the bulbs out of the gauges. Should check if your light knob is turned all the way up? as for the radio i dont know what you did there, is it any special deck or a stock one?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page