1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

jdm b16a NO vtec power?????

Discussion in 'Integra' started by 97b16a, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. 97b16a

    97b16a New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    hey guys i have a 97 inetra with a jdm b16a engine swap, well the issue is that when i drive it and try to hit vtec on it you have to realy pay attention to know that it hits other wise it just feels like a normal LS engine, for some reaso the vtec has no power you know is ther cuz i can hear it through the intake, but it just has no power, can anybody advise me on what to check or to do, i am noob at vtec and need some advise,

    thanks a bunch :eek:
     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    ditch teh b16 cams, they suck.. and grab some CTR/ITR cams..
     
  3. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    swap that b16a into your crx!

    but really vtec is not supposed to snap your neck back when it engages... the sound is distinct for sure. but the pull of the car should just steadily rise through the crossover and on until about 7500 or so on a stock b16a
     
  4. V8 2 L8

    V8 2 L8 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    vtec is just extra noise ALL
     
  5. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    Check the solenoid or the oil pressure sensors for the VTEC????

    I have a B16a (JDM) and my VTEC sounds loud and it pulls hard (especially after 6500rpm's
     
  6. stelteg

    stelteg New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    if your not getting vtec it may be that you didnt pick up the correct ECU... or you did, and you didnt wire it for a knock sensor, and vtec to the harness.

    my $0.02
     
  7. brian11to1

    brian11to1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    9,203
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    what ecu are you using?
    is your check engine light on?
     
  8. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    yes all that information would be helpful

    p30? p28 chipped?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page