1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JDM B16A1 swap wiring questions..

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 94VTecCiv28, Mar 8, 2009.

  1. 94VTecCiv28

    94VTecCiv28 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    Conklin NY
    Ok, i purchased a B16A1 OBD0 swap. its mounted in my 1991 civic DX with Yonaka mounts. i have everything ready to go... except the wiring... i REALLY need help with this... please look closely and help me to the best of your ability... this is my DD and i need it alive!!

    Pinouts and wire colors:
    this "Table" tells you the color of the wires on the factory DX harness and the color (and destination) of the wires that NEED to be in that pin-hole to run this engine...

    For example if it says:
    A1 in DX = yellow (wire that must go there = Brown #1 inject.)
    THAT MEANS: the wire on the factory DX ECU harness is yellow and the wire on the part i need to wire to that pin on the ECU is Brown.


    A1 in DX = Yellow (wire that must go there = Brown #1 inject.)
    A3 in DX = Yellow (wire that must go there = Red #2 inject.)
    A5 in DX = Red (wire that must go there = Blue #3 inject.)
    A7 in DX = Red (wire that must go there = Yellow #4 inject.)
    A8 in DX = Yellow (wire that must go there = Green/Yel, which goes to V-Tec Sol.)
    C1 in DX = Orange (wire that must go there = Blu/Green, which goes to dist.)
    C2 in DX = White (wire that must go there = Blu/Yel, which goes to dist.)
    B5 in DX = White(wire that must go there = Blu/Blk, which goes to V-Tec Oil Press.)
    B19 in DX = Green/Red (wire that must go there =?????, which goes to Knock sensor)


    Basically every wire i need to run to the ecu already has a wire in that pin-hole on the ECU. basically i need to know what to do with the wire that is currently in those holes... can i just cut and solder the new ones to the current pins and cut the old wires off? or do i need to run the wires i cut off to something else?

    if you can help me, Please do... try and explain to your best of your ability... if someone could call me that would be amazing.. it would be a five Min or less phonecall. just to help me out quickly with this situation. i am in Binghamton NY. if you could call me then shoot me an e-mail at Justinolivia33@yahoo.com and ill send you my number asap...

    :confused: i really need the help asap... Thanks alot guys.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2009
  2. 94VTecCiv28

    94VTecCiv28 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    Conklin NY
    come on now..

    come on now people.. i know somebody here knows this... all i need to know is what i do with the wires that are already in the ecu pins where the new engine wires need to go? just cut them and tape them off? or do i need to run them to something else??
     
  3. Korax

    Korax New Member

    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Location:
    Western PA
    I'm not going to go through them all but check out this link It explains it a lot better. EF wiring

    This is what i used when I did my swap. Turned over first turn of the key.
     
  4. 94VTecCiv28

    94VTecCiv28 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    Conklin NY
    that is the same page i ham using for my swap.... i know what i need to do and what wires to run to what pins on the ECU.... but every pin on the ECU that i need to run a new wire to already had a wire in it... do i just snip it off and leave it alone? or do i need to run the wires i cut off to something else?????
     
  5. Korax

    Korax New Member

    Messages:
    1,379
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Location:
    Western PA
    Yeah, you need to either cut the wire off near the ecu and solder it to the wire it is supposed to be, or de-pin and swap the wire to the right location on the ecu.
     
  6. 94VTecCiv28

    94VTecCiv28 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    Conklin NY
    well i got my swap up and running a few weeks ago, sorry i havent come back with pics yet. i threw in the ecu when it came, and first click of the key it came to life. ill post pics asap
     
  7. tony1978male

    tony1978male New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    hello everyone i am getting ready to do the swap and need a little help on the vtec wires ok here i go so i will bring the wires inside to the ecm now do i cut the wire off the plug(on ecm) were it needs to go or spice into the wire b/c all pins have wires going to the pins
     
  8. 94VTecCiv28

    94VTecCiv28 New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Location:
    Conklin NY
    just cuyt them off (or depin them) and let them hang. they are un-needed.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page