1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JDM D15b into 1990 DX

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by 91hatch757, Jul 14, 2005.

  1. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    I will be swapping the JDM D15b into my 1990 DX Civic Hatch. Which damn ECU do I use? I already have the distributor out of a 1991 si! Please someone clear this up! I heard that tyhe P08 which is the ECU that came with the engine is OBD1. The distributor I have is OBD0. Is there a way to use those two? I would hate to have to buy another distributor. The main reason why is that P08 are pretty cheap compared to the rest. Also the P08 has vtec already? Or will I need something else to kick in the VTEC? I know its a lot of questions but hopefully someone can just run through them really quick!
     
  2. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    you have to make if MPFI...because you only have DPFI....thats the first thing...sorry but ive never researched things for SOHC...


    Multy Point Fuel Injection=MPFI
    Dual Point Fuel Injection=DPFI
     
  3. jimboburgess

    jimboburgess Go fast, Go Cheap

    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    14
    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Location:
    nyc
    I would think that an ecu out of a obd-0 SI would work, but i don't know what i am talking about.
     
  4. B16CRX

    B16CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    you will hav to convert to obd1 because there arent any obd0 SOHC vtec engines. Buy the new distributor, make a dist harness or just hack it up and solder it all together with thte new plugs. get teh ECU harness for the conversion. and you should be good to go. you also need the obd1 4 wire O2 sensor.
     
  5. droppedcrxsi

    droppedcrxsi Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    On that engine i would definately convert to OBD1 to use a P08 or P28 ECU.
    http://www.rywire.com has all your wiring.
    Call the phone # on the homepage and we'll help you understand what is necessary.

    Never cut wires at the 7 pin distributor plug, the pins can be de-pinned and reinserted into the new obd1 style plug, no need to destroy your harness. The 2-pin plug will need to be soldered unless you have factory honda pins to crimp on, like we at Rywire do. =)
     
  6. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Okay I went out and got all OBD1 stuff! Next is the p08 or p28 better for the swap?
     
  7. B16CRX

    B16CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    I would get the P28, bc if later on you decide to boost it, or even if you want to tune this thing N/A the P28 is your best OBD1 bet.
     
  8. DirtyRice

    DirtyRice Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005


    NONONNONONONONONONONONOONONONO! if you are talking aobut using a jdm d15b VTEC engine use a modified 89-91 civic si\ex mpfi distributor, a 88-89 integra ecu (7500 redline) and a vafc or a rpm switch to ativate the vtec! if i were you i would use a vafc and dyno tune your car... much better in the end. thats all you need, you dont have to go obd1. that shit is a headache!!

    Be good

    -DirtyRice-
    !!!Got to my website and get my newest album free!!!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  9. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005


    SO let me get this straight. All I need is to modify a stock si distributor, mpfi wiring, and a VAFC for VTEC? That goes against everything that has been posted about this swap! Anyone else care to back this up! If this works it would be so much easier!
     
  10. alky350

    alky350 Junior Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    i just did this swap, I used the p08 ecu for that motor, and its a single wire o2 sensor. that ecu uses a single wire 02 sensor. you can use a 4 wire, but you need to modify the ecu.\

    http://www.pgmfi.org/twiki/bin/view/Librar...To4WireO2Sensor

    i decided to run the p08, later on if i do another swap requiring a four wire 02 sensor, you can run the extra wires to the ecu plugs.

    you can program both the p28 and p08, but the po8 was programmed specifically for the d15b

    do not hack up anthing, get a engine harness from rywire.com and be done with it, run the dizzy that came with the d15b.

    my 2 cents..... beotch!
     
  11. droppedcrxsi

    droppedcrxsi Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005



    I suggest obd1, its a very easy conversion, and vtec on a toggle switch is not a good idea
     
  12. B16CRX

    B16CRX Senior Member

    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Location:
    Greenville, SC


    Toggle vtec will mess your motor up, and kill power.
     
  13. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005


    Is a VAFC still consider a toggle switch type device or is it okay for powering VTEC?
     
  14. 91hatch757

    91hatch757 Junior Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Okay heres my current track of what I am doing! Please reply all you want but I am not going OBD-1 to save time!

    1. Honda JDM D15B from Makota Engines in Chesapeake VA for 250.00 :worthy: !
    2. Integra PG7 ECU
    3. DX tranny (can't find an SI cable tranny anywhere for a good price :angry: )
    4. Fields VAFC for VTEC and tuning

    Will this work? I will be using the distributor that came wqith the engine and from what I understand it can be modded! Also will I need a 4 wire or 1 wire O2 sensor?
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page