JDM H22 into 99 Accord LX

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

I have a 99 accord LX and would like to swap the H23 VTEC for something a little more potent and more cheaply upgradeable. I haven't found any inexpensive turbo / super charger kits for my car and that's half the reason I want to swap. I was thinking JDM H22A OBD2 swap. Can I use the same tranny from my H23? I've never done a swap before so I really don't know what's involved. Is this something I can do or should I find someone with some experience?? Thanks for the input!

I split your topic off since it's a new question.

You've got an F23A1 in there, not an H23. :)

You can use the F23 tranny, but I wouldn't recommend it. It's weak, and it's very long-geared, which isn't good for n/a setups.

Look around this site for info on an H-series engine into an Accord. You should get most of your questions answered that way.

Sorry for my ignorance, but even the 2.3L VTEC motor in the 99 Accords is an F23A1? What kind of engine mods / engine swaps would you recommend for this car? I would like to put 300hp into it if possible, but I don't know a whole lot about these things. Thanks! :worthy:

No worries.

Yes, the F23A1 is the only engine that came in 6th gen Accords. All were VTEC, 155 horses.

If you want 300 horsepower out of it (and not swap it), your only option is boosting it (with or without the aid of nitrous). You'll have to do some major work to the engine, and you're probably looking at close to $7500 just for the engine mods and turbo package, not to mention the suspension, tranny and brake work you'll need to handle that power.

Would it be more adviseable to swap for a different engine that could handle more power / boost instead of tweaking the F23A1?