1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JDM H22 swap ?s

Discussion in 'Prelude' started by SmoothRigoletto, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. SmoothRigoletto

    SmoothRigoletto SmoothRigoletto

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    i blew my 92 lude that came with an F22. i'm swapping JDM H22 and i need to find out asap if i will be able to use the JDM intake manifold. plus i havent got the ecu yet. should i get the jdm ecu or the usdm? is there a difference? and what color is the oil pump switch connector because it seems like mine is cut off from the wire harness. Any pics or site recommendations to help me with this issue will be appreciated. thanks guys.
     
  2. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo
    wow search button is there for a reason.

    yes the intake mani will be fine, you need a p13 ecu.
     
  3. SmoothRigoletto

    SmoothRigoletto SmoothRigoletto

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    awesome, thanks for the reply. the only question left is on the intake manifold, there's a sensor that i have no idea what plugs on there. its located on the top of the manifold close to where the intake pipe connects. Maybe i dont have to use it since there's nothing else to plug there?
     
  4. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo
    sounds like a map sensor.
     
  5. SmoothRigoletto

    SmoothRigoletto SmoothRigoletto

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    So i'm guessing i don't have to use the map sensor on the jdm manifold becuse on my prelude it already have one on the firewall.
    Does anyone have pictures or know of any online sites of what the oil pump switch looks like and where its located? My USDM H22 harness wire is cut so i need to know the color of the wires. Help?
     
  6. SmoothRigoletto

    SmoothRigoletto SmoothRigoletto

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    oh yeah, i knotice that the usdm distributor is external and the jdm is internal. I have a H23a external on my hands and it seems to plug up directly with the USDM harness wire that i have. Do i need to mod anything of the distributor wires because of the JDM engine, or is it all good the way it is and leave it alone?
     
  7. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo
    yes you have to wire the distributor to be internal coil. other wise you wont have any power to the coil
     
  8. SmoothRigoletto

    SmoothRigoletto SmoothRigoletto

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    can i just use the H23a external coil + Distributor?
     
  9. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo
    if the h23 dist will work...not sure if it will or not
     
  10. wizard_h22

    wizard_h22 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    axel problems

    I have a 1993 accord with a 1995 h22 swap. I don't know what axels to use. If anyone knows please reply. thanks
     
  11. SmoothRigoletto

    SmoothRigoletto SmoothRigoletto

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    use the H22's axel, they're practically the same as the accords except on one of the H22's axels there is a mount on one of the axel that attaches to the engine. This axel should have 3 bolts which will bolt the axel to the engine. But if you don't have the H22 axels on your hands. Just go with the accords.
     
  12. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo
    the axle is mounted with 3 bolts?????:confused: :huh:
     
  13. SmoothRigoletto

    SmoothRigoletto SmoothRigoletto

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Yes 3 bolts and it should be the left axle (driver's side) mounting onto the back engine.
     
  14. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo

    well im not going to lie its going to be hard for the axle to move if you bolt it to the block:p . you are talking about the intermediate shaft not the cv shaft.
     
  15. SmoothRigoletto

    SmoothRigoletto SmoothRigoletto

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    yes the intermediate shaft mounts onto the engine with 3 bolts. thats what i meant to say. but as far as the axles go either axel from either car will work. i just like the prelude axles over the accords because they have the intermediate shaft to mount onto the engine for more stability. I knotice the accords don't come with the axle mounting shafts.
     
  16. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo

    the axles are the same....basically. the f22 axles are just a hare shorter than the h22 axles. i would recommend using the f22 axles or make sure that you grind down the axle but just a little so that the wheel bearings seat properly. if you do not you WILL be replacing the hub bearings almost every 5-6 months.
     
  17. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo
    the f22 and accords have intermediate shafts that bolt to the block...and yes 3 bolts:moon:
     
  18. SmoothRigoletto

    SmoothRigoletto SmoothRigoletto

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    i've worked on a couple accords that didn't come with it and i wondered why. i threw mines away and got the ones that did come with them.
     
  19. SmoothRigoletto

    SmoothRigoletto SmoothRigoletto

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    does anyone know of any good sites that will show me (with pictures) of all the hoses and wire harness connections, and colors of wires, cuz mine's are all cut up like a boitch, can't tell which wires plug where.
     
  20. powerdriverh22

    powerdriverh22 Senior Member

    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Location:
    spfld, mo
    that is impossible. all accords, civics, preludes etc have intermediate shafts. the axle does not go straight to the transmission. the driverside axle always connects to the intermediate shaft:nutkick:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page