1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

jdm harness

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by 2Kgsr, Aug 13, 2005.

  1. 2Kgsr

    2Kgsr Junior Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Can you use a jdm wiring harness on a usdm civic?
     
  2. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Not easily. Some people have, but you have to cut and extend a LOT of the wires. The JDM cars have everything on teh opposite side. Mostly they are used for plugs, and extra wire.
     
  3. confusatron

    confusatron Senior Member

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago area
    Isn't it possible to just unclip the wire bundles and run them to the opposite side? Or is there not enough length? Man this will suck big time if I have to run splices from every wire in every clip.
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    No, you can't just flip it around, some wires will be too short, some will be too long.
     
  5. confusatron

    confusatron Senior Member

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago area
    So, in terms of this wiring situation, do most of you guys just buy usdm motors for your swap to avoid this hassle? Or is this extending the wires thing just a regular part of a swap? There's a lot of freakin wires to extend on that engine! I've got a Hasport wiring harness kit, but is that enough to avoid all this? Lastly, is there an alternative to extending the wires, and is there a visual instruction guide to this somewhere that I can look at as far as how the heck to do it? :eek:
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Most people use the harness that is in their car, and modify it to work if needed.
     
  7. confusatron

    confusatron Senior Member

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago area
    so in other words, I can strip the harness off my D15B7 and just add the extra wires for the VTEC solenoid, pressure sensor, etc. and I'll be good?
     
  8. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
  9. confusatron

    confusatron Senior Member

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago area


    You're the greatest man. Thanks.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page