1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Jdm Motor General~~

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Lee7pcNOOb, Sep 16, 2007.

  1. Lee7pcNOOb

    Lee7pcNOOb New Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arlington
    I got a complete swap can i use the clutch that is already assembled in the motor? timing belt? im replacing the gaskets though. thx insight appreciated.
     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    its recommended to change the timing belt
     
  3. Lee7pcNOOb

    Lee7pcNOOb New Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arlington
    can i complete the swap with the orginal timing belt on there and then start it up just to make shure the engine has no problems?
    once i verify that the engine is running ill take it to the shop to get other stuff changed. i was curius because i dont want to mess up the timing of the engine, i dont have a timing gun.
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    just so you know.. its much easier to change a timing belt with the motor out of the car
     
  5. Lee7pcNOOb

    Lee7pcNOOb New Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arlington
    dont you need a timing gun to to test out the timing? can you mess up the motor if the timing belt change isnt done properly? and i have to move the cam gears i have no axles in how would i go about changing it then? sorry i just dont want to mess up my new motor.
    sorry for any annoying ignorance i bring to the table.
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    line everything up TDC and it'll be fine.. (scratch the face of the cam to mark cam location TDC)
     
  7. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    werd. its much easier to do a timing belt with the engine out of the car.


    As stated above, line up everything TDC, mark the location of the cam gear and crank pully if youre worried about not remembering what TDC looks like.

    Its a 20 maybe 30 minute job when the engine is out....it can be upwards of 2 hours (chargable time) to do it while the engine is in the car.
     
  8. Lee7pcNOOb

    Lee7pcNOOb New Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arlington
    Hey thank you both i really appreciate it i will do it with the motor out. Im also going to change spark plugs and spark plug wires and oil pan gasket. This is my first swap, everything is going well but its all because of the help on this forum. Thx guys.
     
  9. Lee7pcNOOb

    Lee7pcNOOb New Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arlington
    On my b16a2 wiring harness there are sensors on it still, if i accidentally mess up my d16y8 harness can i cut off my old sensor and crimp the wires with the correct colors to the b16a2 sensors. (assuming they are the same)
     
  10. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    for the most part the sensors are the same. short answer yes.
     
  11. Lee7pcNOOb

    Lee7pcNOOb New Member

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    Arlington
    thx man. :p
     
  12. killektiv

    killektiv New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    I also went the extra step and switched out the water pump and atl. belt. Like its been said above, its just easier to do these things with the motor on a stand.
     
  13. fixngo

    fixngo New Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    i agree with them, its much easier to do the timing belt outside, do the belt, tensioner pulley, cam seals, new water pump, oil pump seal, idleler pulley. and also, the timing gun is for ignition timing only, that gun has nothing to do with the timing on the timing belt
     
  14. Matts96HB

    Matts96HB . Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    6,482
    Likes Received:
    390
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    You'll definately be happy you did this when everything runs the way it should. Things can get damaged during shipping, and often times you dont know it till you get the motor in and coolant runs everywhere or it wont start. Swap done right. :)
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page