1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

JDM or USDM

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by mdlax1, Aug 1, 2003.

  1. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    Ok so i have a US ITR in my 99 coupe. I'm running a 99-00 SI Harness.. and a 00 B16a2 ecu.

    here's my question. I have a v-afc.. blah blah blah

    im aware that the us itr doesn't produce power after the 8,400-8,500 rpm. well im getting the ITR ecu i have a choice between the JDM or USDM with the imob and pin taken care of already..

    so which do i get.. dont just answer JDM JDM cause it's jdm but i need the tech side of this guys thanks

    Eric
     
  2. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    i say get the USDM for 2 reasons
    1.) you already have a USDM motor, might as well match them
    2.) you wont have the shitty 115 (or 105 i forget which) mph speed limiter the JDM ecu's have
     
  3. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    the JDM has a govener??? i didnt' know that.
     
  4. asmallsol

    asmallsol Super Moderator

    Messages:
    8,074
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Houghton/Livonia Michigan
    yep it is acutally like some odd number (like 112 or 114) but in any case, extremly low.
     
  5. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    so what frey tell is the usdm one?
     
  6. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA
    what is frey tell?
     
  7. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    whats the usdm speed cut off
     
  8. word

    word Senior Member

    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    USDM has NO speed limiter. Also, the JDM ecu is programmed for a much higher octane level (like 99 or 103, I forget) than the 91-93 here in the US.
     
  9. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....
    so general consensus is usdm
     
  10. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    734
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland
    or you just go Hondata like I did with my JDM motor
     
  11. MXDesa

    MXDesa Senior Member

    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Location:
    Queens, New York

    Do speed limiters on the ECU's go just for the JDM ITR Ecu or does that apply to all JDM ECU's?? And do all USDM ecu's have no speed limiter??!
     
  12. mdlax1

    mdlax1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    On the Proverbial picked fence of Insanity....

    if and when im ready for E. M. im going tec 3 lets you change it all and doesn't rely on someone programming it.. more hands on
     
  13. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    734
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland

    make sure you know what your getting yourself into
    its a great system but Im not sure why you would want it

    Tempest uses Hondata for most of their cars but they did use a Tec 2 system on the prelude and type R only reason being is the type R was making 450WHP on pump gas and also running N20 and the prelude put out 750HP with a very tiny turbo that use to be on a civic

    but as for the 300-400WHP cars they all run Hondata very easy simple and clean
    plus you still use all your normal things like check engine light so its easier to track down problems just running the ECU codes

    I have a sleeved, pistons, rods, headwork and tons of other little things APR headstuds and such motor and it has NEVER crossed my mine to run tec2
    I love my hondata =)

    Jeff
     
  14. jeffie7

    jeffie7 Wrong Whole! VIP

    Messages:
    12,930
    Likes Received:
    734
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Maryland

    Im not fully sure but I don't believe that is true

    one thing to back it up would be just think about how many people do JDM swaps and use JDM ECUs if it was really a problem Im sure you would have heard tons of people on hondaswap asking why is it not running right....

    I have a JDM B16 I've run a few ECUs

    Civic EX
    GSR
    Type R
    racing spec GSR
    and SIR

    right now Im running a fully custom fuelmap but when it was all motor for the most part I ran the JDM spec civic SIR with 8500 revlimit and also no speed gov
     
  15. B16

    B16 Super Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,539
    Likes Received:
    534
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    yay area, CA

    yes, from what i've heard all JDM ecu's have the same speed limit. i know USDM ones have speed limits, i'm not sure about the ITR one.
     
  16. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    dont' bother with the J ecu's. The limiter is at 180Kph. If you want a decent starting point get a p28 and put a ITR base map on it for the mean time. Then add hondata, and fine tune shit out.




    Milan
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page