job: commute VS pay

what should i do?

• quit and take one of these if they offer you a position

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • keep a job on the back burner, and when you go to quit, see if they will give you a better offer to

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

posol

RETIRED
I've blind applied to a couple jobs the past few days to explore my options a little more. Now that I have a couple years experience in the corprate world, companies actually look at me.

Today, I had two companies contact me, both wanting to schedule an interview.

The first is about 45 min away (shelton) and the 2nd is about an hour away (Trumbull)

Both jobs offer a higher pay range.
I currently make 45k.

the one in shelton has a range of 50-65 doe
the one in trumbel has a range of 55-75 doe

My current "commute" is about 3 miles. I barely finish a cig before i'm pulling into the parking lot, and in the winter, i'm just stating to get heat. lol

I'm starting to feel that my job is a dead end. I haven't even had a review in 18 months (since i started on first shift). I like my job. It's frustrating some times, but that's anywhere. I like most of the people I work with, and I get along with just about everyone. I think my biggest gripe, is that its a dead end, i'm going no where, and the future is a lame-duck. They don't match 401k (so i don't even have one), my xmass bonus, and only bonus of the year was a measely couple hundred bucks. my health insurance blows... costs me almost 300 a month for the shit and the co-pays are huge.

If i were to get a raise and had a better benefits package, i wouldn't even consider moving jobs. But since i dont think that's going to happen, i'm looking. perhaps, casually right now, but deep down, i'm relly considering it.