1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

just got done with my b16 swap, bad shaking in 2nd gear and above. under load?

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by prettylewtm, Oct 16, 2007.

  1. prettylewtm

    prettylewtm New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    ok my car idles perfect, its a 91 hatch im running OBD1 p72, b16a JDM motor, and place racing mounts, with the longer version intermediate shaft, forgot the model either y1 or s1, and on the drivers side im using a 86-89 teggy axle and on the passenger side a 90-93 axle. both fit fine. and when spinning the wheels in the air i get no binding, and the car rolls easily on its own. i bought the axles brand new.

    now heres my problem. i took the car out for a drive and first gear seems ok but i put it in second and get on the gas i get this HORRIBLE shaking in the wheel and car, but when i get off the gas it goes away.

    any ideas what this may be? is this normal with a swap?

    heres a pic.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. 14 sec. windstar

    14 sec. windstar New Member

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    i have an integra with a fully built b16a with the lsd and low rpms 2nd and 3rd its shakes a lil its normals to get a lil shake out of aftermarket motor mounts with polyuithan inserts( cant spell)
     
  3. prettylewtm

    prettylewtm New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    yes i know a lil normal vibration, but this is more like a chatter in the driveline. like a shake not so much a vibration but a SHAKE you can feel.
     
  4. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,939
    Likes Received:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    could be an axle or out of balance wheel and tire. might need an alignment to.

    where did you buy your swap at? it's very clean.
     
  5. prettylewtm

    prettylewtm New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    i bought the whole car as a project it came with the JDM b16a. and all kind sof parts to do the swap like mounts and linkage. but i bought the tranny and i bought the axles new.

    i cleaned the motor and painted it. thats why its so clean! lol.
    thanks for the compliment.

    i definitely suspect the alignment. cuz you can noticeably see the toe is out on one side more than the other. and the person before just installed camber adjusters.
    would the alignment cause a shake under load??
     
  6. get_nick

    get_nick These snozzberries taste like snozzberries... VIP

    Messages:
    11,939
    Likes Received:
    1,059
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Washington State
    yes, the alignment would cause a shake. it wouldn't need to be out much either. find a straight and empty road and go about 30mph. let go of the steering wheel and see if the car drives straight. if it still drives straight, with your hands lightly on the wheel, brake hard and see if it pulls to one side or another.
     
  7. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    clean car.. my car does the same thing.. not sure what it is.. only question i have for you.. why are you running a p72 with a b16..
     
  8. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    It may be a bad CV joint on one of your axles.. I've seen that happen a few times and it only causes a vibration while accelerating.
     
  9. prettylewtm

    prettylewtm New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007

    both axles are brand new
     
  10. prettylewtm

    prettylewtm New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    why not? wont hurt. a p72 was originally for a b18c. and the P28 was originally for a SOHC vtec. so id rather go with a computer that was supposed to be on a DOHC plus i hear the stock maps are a lil better for the b16. i hear nothin but problems from people that run p28's on a b16.
     
  11. prettylewtm

    prettylewtm New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    ok just to clear things up, im using place racing mounts. 90-93 integra passenger side axle, a Y1 intermediate shaft (the long one) with a 86-89 integra drivers side axle.

    does anyone think this should be a problem? im starting to think the axles are too long. because a shake under load usually means axles.
     
  12. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i'd run a jdm p30 or a chipped p28.. i'm running a chipped p28 and i have zero problems
     
  13. prettylewtm

    prettylewtm New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    thats cool, and if i had a p30 id use it, but i dont, i had a p72 lying around and its a good ECM. but ive heard of alot of people having idle problems with p28's and b16's
     
  14. humblegumbo

    humblegumbo 1595cc's of Mad Fury

    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    CA
    Dude! Someone stole your hood! WTF? :ph34r:

    Very nice looking. Super clean.


    I'm having a very similar problem w/ my ride shaking much like you describe. It's driving my batshit because she doesn't handle like she used to. The motor is original to the car. I had an alignment last week & she still shakes like something's going to come apart & no one has any idea how to fix it. :mad:


    This all started about the time I swapped out the d-side axle like 2 months ago w/ brand new replacement from autozone.
     
  15. norcalgsr

    norcalgsr Honda Master Technician

    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Location:
    NorCal
    I've got bad axles straight out of the box from Autozone before.. take it back and make them give you a new one they have lifetime warranties on them.
     
  16. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    I used to work at AutoZone and you start to learn that 'new' doesn't always mean 'perfect' Half the time the rebuilt stuff; I.E. axles, master cyclinders, ect... usually never have any complaints.

    As far as your axles go, i'd make sure the 90-93 axle you have on there right now has the dust seal removed and i would take the 89 teg axle out and replace it with a 90-93 teg axle. On EVERY swap i've done in an EF/ED I've used the 90-93 Integra non-abs axles with the dust sheilds removed, and I have NEVER had any problems and/or complaints.
     
  17. prettylewtm

    prettylewtm New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007

    i know what your saying but i tried a 90-93 axle on the drivers side and it was too long! i couldnt even bolt the ball joint in. because im using a y1 intermediate shaft.
     
  18. prettylewtm

    prettylewtm New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    idno maybe i just need to get the 90-93 intermediate shaft with the 90-93 axle. perhaps the 1 " longer intermediate shaft im using puts the axle in a weird spot and makes it bind.
     
  19. 91_civic_si

    91_civic_si New Member

    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    Wasilla, Alaska
    Do your axles have the abs rings on them? Is your tranny lsd?
     
  20. prettylewtm

    prettylewtm New Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    the axle on the passenger side has an ABS ring on it. do i need to knock that off of there? no the tranny isnt LSD as far as i kno
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page