1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

k20 in a DA???

Discussion in 'Integra' started by 92 CiviC H/B, Dec 13, 2007.

  1. 92 CiviC H/B

    92 CiviC H/B DB1 Owner.

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    i was just wondering if the k20 Rsx type s 6speed swap would work in a DA?
    pretty sure it can be done,but just don't know what needs to be done so this motor can fit?

    thanks in advance.
     
  2. 99sidude

    99sidude Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    3,707
    Likes Received:
    170
    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Location:
    Ohio
  3. 92 CiviC H/B

    92 CiviC H/B DB1 Owner.

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    would a redline at 8.2k hurt a stock ls engine?
     
  4. AHHVTEC

    AHHVTEC Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    13,122
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    probably
     
  5. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Does a stock LS red-line at 8,200? The answer to that question is no, so the answer to your question is yes. If you want to safely spin your motor significantly higher than your stock red-line, you need to upgrade your valve train. And if you actually want to make power at 8,200 RPMs, then you'll need to upgrade your cams as well.
     
  6. 92 CiviC H/B

    92 CiviC H/B DB1 Owner.

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    yeah your right.its just that i found a spoon sports chip that has a 8.2k redline.
    a LS motor,fuel cuts off at 6.8k.
     
  7. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yeah, chips like that really aren't a good idea. Just like you said, what's the point of an 8,200 red-line when the fuel cuts off at 6,800? The best thing to do is chip your ECU and get it tuned specifically to your engine and it's modifications. Those "Mugen" and "Spoon" chips that you see on eBay are one-size-fits-all tuning solutions, and that's really not something you wanna do when you're talking about something like a car engine.
     
  8. 92 CiviC H/B

    92 CiviC H/B DB1 Owner.

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    yeah thats probably what i will do..thanks for the info.
     
  9. 91integra91

    91integra91 1# shifter

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Location:
    GTA/ONTARIO/CANADA
    tune the motor before u do anything with a chip so u can handle the operating rpm spin for the cams
     
  10. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Tune the motor before you chip? What are you talking about? You add a chip so that you can tune. No part of your post makes any sense at all...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page