1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

k20a typer swap into 07 civic si sedan

Discussion in 'General Tech and Maintenance' started by civictyper21, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. civictyper21

    civictyper21 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Before I bought the motor I verified with the salesmen that if it would fit my car. He told me if I had it would drop into my car without any complications. Came in over two weeks ago and had my machanic work on it this morning only to find out it wouldnt fit. I called them back and they told me I had to make slight modifications which I was pissed. They told me I had to change out the crank sensor and use my old civic si intake manifold for my new engine. Problem is my machanic said wirings all wrong, and the old intake wouldnt fit. Now i have to pay him for labor just for taking out the old engine and theres a chance I have to return the motor. There is also a chance that they wont take it back. Can someone Please help me with my complications because now Im looking at spending more money to correct this. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I just want this get this beautiful car back on the road again and if i knew if i was going to go through all of this I would of stuck with the stock motor. Any input would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.. Please help, situations made me very stressful :(
     
  2. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Urmm...what do you want us to tell you here? How to install the motor? Or how to deal with the people you bought it from?
     
  3. civictyper21

    civictyper21 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    What I need to do to make it fit.. bump for help please
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    it should bolt right in.. wiring shouldnt be that different. .. and its easy to swap manifolds.. i dont see what the problem is.. people swap k-series into crx's.. going k20 to k20 should be no problem
     
  5. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    :werd:

    Is this mechanic somebody who actually specializes in performance engine swaps? Or is he just a regular mechanic? All of these things (wiring harnesses not matching up exactly, intake manifolds or other pieces needing to be swapped with USDM versions, etc.) are fairly common issues that you'll run across when swapping in a JDM motor...
     
  6. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    You do need the Z3 intake manifold b/c the TB's are totally different. I believe there are 4 plugs on your Z3 harness that need to be switched to the type R plugs. starter, alternator, knock sensor and oil pressure sensor. Keep the stock harness and just use those plugs off the K20A Type R harness
     
  7. civictyper21

    civictyper21 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Hes just a regular car machanic at a nissan dealership

    Really appreciate your help man, is there a site or something you can direct me to so I can show my machanic?
     
  8. CAFROG

    CAFROG Honda Minion VIP

    Messages:
    4,417
    Likes Received:
    154
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Location:
    NOR-CAL
    K20a.org is where I learned to make my swap happen. Thet have plenty of guys there with your chassis.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page