1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

knock sensor help.

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by Taco15, Feb 25, 2005.

  1. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    alright. since i got the car its had the knock sensor code on. Ive hooked up what i thought was the knock sensor ( back of the block above the oil filter). Ive fixed everything else and reset the ecu. What can be wrong? Bad knock sensor or is there something else that can make it throw that code? Also, is it robbing the car of power or hurting it at all?

    Its code 23. i have a B16a/b18a1.(ls/vtec) i need advice here so anything is appreciated
     
  2. AllMotorMonster

    AllMotorMonster Senior Member

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Location:
    Inland Empire foo!
    Sure the wire is hooked up to the ECU right?

    - Could be a bad knock sensor
    - Could be your engine is knocking all the time
     
  3. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl

    alright well, can i get the ks from auto parts store or what?
    and whats this about my motor knocking all the time? I would be able to feel it right?
     
  4. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    Regular motor knock would sound like gas ping or light valve tapping. Gas ping is predetonation, which is what the knock sensor is trying to prevent.

    I've found the knock sensor to be a pain in the ass. Like you, I tried everything, and was still never able to totally remove the code. The only way to lose the knock sensor is to chip your ECU and disable the knock sensor.(or find a non knock sensor ECU)
     
  5. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    well i took it to shop today to get new cams seals. The guy(mikey) said there was no knocking and he believes it's a bad knock sensor. Mikey also states they are a pain in the ass to find. Anybody knows where i can get one and how much they cost?
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    You could get one from Honda, or try searching at a junkyard.
     
  7. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    they come out of any ls motor right? if so i might get lucky. but man my junk yards here are really scrarce on hondas and other imports. I was told they are like 100 bucks. true or false?
    I'll try to do call or something but man it's raining like hell here and it's really ugly. So i just might stay in all night.
     
  8. DoinWork

    DoinWork Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    knock sensor only come on vtec engines...They pretty expensive too anywhere from 65 and up...
     
  9. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl

    well damn i'll be lucky to to find ANY vtec motors here... ohh well i'd better start searching! thanks for the helpful info. I've been driving it so far so would it harm it if i keep driving it?
     
  10. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    hold up.

    you have an ls/vtec.

    ls blocks don't have a knock sensor at all.

    wtf did you wire up?

    your best bet-- is to get a p28 ecu, and get some uberdata on there to chip it.
     
  11. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    yea. what ecu are you using??
     
  12. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    im using a pw0 b16a ecu. I know the LS blocks dont have knock sensors and my mechanic told he can't see one(we were looking from the top of car) . But i read somewhere that you have to make KS when building the ls/vtec.
    At first what i thought i was hooking up was either the fan switch or KS. When the KS cel came on again(after resetting the ecu). I figured i hooked the fan switch. Now it was obvious those two cut wires need to be hooked up so i did.
    Also the KS pin on the ecu has a wire coming out and going somewhere to the engine. I origionally thought it was the KS. And that those 2 cut wire were to the KS. I'm taking it to the shop again since i didnt work to get it checked out.
     
  13. Taco15

    Taco15 I wear stretchy pants VIP

    Messages:
    6,998
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl
    PROBLEM SOLVED! Damn sensor wasn't hooked up. I cant believe i never saw it as many times as i've looked down there. well i hooked it up and know my idle went up to loke 1200 instead of 7-800. Thanks for the input guys and yeah i'm a dumb ass! :doh:
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page