1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

knock sensor question

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by triton302, Mar 6, 2007.

  1. triton302

    triton302 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    i did a minime on my 99 DX from d16y7 to y8, everything runs fine except i have a CEL for a knock sensor. i have the p2p ecu from a 99 ex and that means i have to have the sensor. at the moment i can get the knock sensor but i cant do an ecu swap to a p28 with obd1 convernsion. but my BIG question is this... is it possible that if i just wire the knock sensor up to the ecu, i can make a bracket and mount it somewhere out of the way along the firewall perhaps, or will i DEFINITELY need to mount it into the block??? i really dont want to have to drill the block for it. any and all help would be great!!!
     
  2. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i dont think the single cam has a KS
     
  3. triton302

    triton302 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    most of the SOHC civics dont have a knock sensor EXCEPT the 96-00 EX's and the 99-00 HX's. the stock y7 didn't have one but now i need one to get rid of the CEL. like i said i dont want to have to drill the block for it if i dont have to.
     
  4. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    chip the ecu and disable the knock sensor then
     
  5. triton302

    triton302 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    i dont think thats possible, OBDIIb ecus cannot be reprogrammed or chipped, thats why when civic owners do a minime they usually go with a p28 ecu with an OBDI conversion harness, i would do this but i cant afford it at the moment
     
  6. triton302

    triton302 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
  7. volcanomike

    volcanomike New Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    The knock sensor has to be mounted somewhere were there is vibration. So either on the block or somewhere where there is vibration or ive actually read about it being mounted on the altenator bracket. Its up to you either that or swap to obd1 and use the p28 which requires no knock sensor and no second o2 sensor. Ive also read about people using the p2p and running into fuel tank pressure CEL, i believe you can get rid of that by switching to an aftermarket fuel pump or using one from an EX Car... Not really sure on that though. need anything else lemme know.
     
  8. volcanomike

    volcanomike New Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    From the 661? me 2. Heh What part you from?
     
  9. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    pm'd
     
  10. triton302

    triton302 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    how would i go about mounting it on the alternator bracket?
     
  11. volcanomike

    volcanomike New Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    I believe people took out the bolt and retapped it to the thread of the knock sensor and used that. Maybe used a shorter bolt in one side and tap the other side so the bolt goes in one way and the knock sensor in the other.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page