1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

knock sensor

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by kbellamy, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. kbellamy

    kbellamy Junior Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Hey, i am getting a JDM B18C in my 94 civic EX. im not sure if the B18 is ODB1 or ODB2 tho. if its OBD2 can i still use my civics engine harness, or do i have to buy a USDM OBD2 engine harness. Also, can i just use my P28 or should i swap out for the P72? is the knock sensor really important, since i think that is the only difference. thanks,

    Kaleb
     
  2. pills_PMD

    pills_PMD Super Moderator

    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    i didn't run a knock sensor on any of my swaps . just tune it well, or have someone do it for you who knows what they are doing. a mustang dyno works wonders for ignition timing.
     
  3. FFCiv

    FFCiv Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    the car will run slow as shit without one, but if you get your ecu chipped you can disable it and tune your car a little in the meantime
     
  4. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Well, not really. If your ECU looks for one, than you will run into problems, but not having one, won't be a cause for bad performance.

    Run a ECU that is chipped to not run one, and you are fine.
     
  5. Tim@Canspeed.com

    Tim@Canspeed.com Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    VTEC will not engage if the ecu does not see a knock sensor. All DOHC VTEC engines are equipped with knock sensors.
     
  6. FFCiv

    FFCiv Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003

    Im pretty sure thats not true at all. My car is throwing:
    23- Accord Civic CRV CRX Del Sol Odyssey Prelude
    98 * 96-98 n/a n/a 94-97 n/a 92-98
    KS (Knock Sensor)
    defective circuit or unplugged / defective sensor
    * not a valid code if V-6 engine
    and i still hit vtec but it runs real rich, burns f oil and doesnt feel any faster
     
  7. Tim@Canspeed.com

    Tim@Canspeed.com Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    VTEC will not engage if the (OEM, non-modified) ecu does not see a knock sensor. Trust me. I have ran into this problem on numerous engine swaps here at the shop.
     
  8. lakaicrxracer

    lakaicrxracer Junior Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    does anyone have any pics of the knock sensor on the back of the block? im cofused theres like 3 whats the rest of them?
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Simply put, that is not always true. In Europe B16A2's at least, did not come with a knock sensor, the ECUs do not look for one either. US and Japan, yes, but not everywhere.
     
  10. D See 2

    D See 2 Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD


    the small one with one metal prong sticking off of it is the oil pressure sensing unit, the one with two brass prongs sticking off of it has soemthing to do with coolant temperature, and the knock sensor is the one closest to the deck (top of the block, where the head bolts to) which has one tiny prong on the inside of the connector. you cant miss it.
     
  11. darien234

    darien234 Senior Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004

    I have a pr3 I'm throwing code 23 because my knock sensor is not wired yet, and I here and feel vtec kick in never miss a beat, my vafc even confirms it.
     
  12. Tim@Canspeed.com

    Tim@Canspeed.com Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004


    If the ECU was designed to utilize a knock sensor and one is not present, VTEC will not engage. Again, unless the ECU has been modified.

    If the European B16A2 did not come with a knock sensor then obviously it will not look for one! I didn't explain this because I thought that was rather obvious!

    Feel free to prove me wrong with some concrete evidence! :D
     
  13. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...
    Just run your p28...it won't look for a knock sensor
     
  14. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Prove you wrong about what? That an ECU that is programmed to look for a knock sensor can not throw a CEL if it doesn't see one in some instance outside of being chipped? No, because that is true. I am just putting out information that not ALL B series have knock sensor, or ECUs that look for them :)
     
  15. FFCiv

    FFCiv Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003

    so why can i hit vtec then?
     
  16. FFCiv

    FFCiv Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003

    what motor do you have?

    Same problem same thing as me and Vtec does kick in
     
  17. darien234

    darien234 Senior Member

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004

    I have a built Z6 I need a GSR Block for my B165A.
     
  18. Tim@Canspeed.com

    Tim@Canspeed.com Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004


    That wasn't really directed at you. I should have stated that. My apologies.


    For those of us who disagree however. Ask this question. Why must you install a knock sensor in the B18 block when doing an LS/VTEC?

    Tip: It's not 'cause it's pretty!

    I'm done! I have used up all of my argument credits for today!
     
  19. B16RacerN2NR

    B16RacerN2NR Working Hard VIP

    Messages:
    6,148
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Location:
    Moving back West...

    First, you don't "have to" install one. it's your preference. second, because b18a/b blocks don't have knock sensors. third, all you need to do is run a VTEC ECU that doesn't look for a knock I.E. a P28...or run a chipped VTEC ECU that won't look for a knock
     
  20. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.


    Enough.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page