1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linspire and a windows domain

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by TurboMirage, Feb 16, 2007.

  1. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    we have to purchase a tempo vinyl machine that uses linux software, and im working on finding out if it is linspire compatible.

    if so, would it be easy to join the machine to my domain so i can see the network shares?
     
  2. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    It depends on your domain controller. My info about Samba is a little old but last time I knew, Samba was not compatible with Server 2003 if you are using Active Directory. They were working on client support (and I believe they were close) but I am not sure.

    Look for Samba, it does handle connecting to a Windows Network without AD, it might do it with.
     
  3. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR
    And Samba will run on any distro, doesn't have to be Linspire.
     
  4. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,579
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    yeah we are currently using a 2K server DC but by the end of the year we are moving to a 2K3 structure.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page