1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Listen to this Crazy Crap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Silver_Surfer, Feb 20, 2006.

  1. Silver_Surfer

    Silver_Surfer Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    So okay. I made a post a while back trying to figure out why the motor by roomate bought from Hmotorsonline was not living up to its potential. Well he bought the supposed JDM SiR II engine with 168 hp.


    Well we took it to a mechanic and this is what we were told.

    The guy first told us it was a sensor for throttle control not giving the proper voltage causing a lack of hp allowance. We were like cool, order the sensor and go to town.

    well...

    When the guy was calling honda looking for the sensor. He was reading off the engines numbers and this is what he was told..

    The block is a 1.9L engine from a 91 Civic.

    the Ecu is from a 1.9L Acura that he wasn't sure of the model at that time.

    And it was non-vtec.

    The valve cover is the JDM valve cover
    and B16 is etched into the block.

    Who is full of shit?
     
  2. formby

    formby learning in progress

    Messages:
    5,735
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    the idiot mech...

    wtf...causing a lack of hp allowance...thats bull....my tps was off when i adjusted it i just got better throttle response no more HP.....that guy is an idiot
     
  3. Silver_Surfer

    Silver_Surfer Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    well when we bought the swap. the ecu was supposed to match the enigne. when it was installed, the check engline light stayed on. we were told that the idle control sensor was not able to be installed for one reason or another. this caused us to have to give it a little gas after it fired up to stay started. Well the other mechanic ran an engine diagnostic and that's what he told us. I want to say it was the IAC sensor. but i may be way off.

    We will be getting a second opinion before talking to hmotors
     
  4. EGProject

    EGProject YEEEEAAHHHHH

    Messages:
    2,870
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    Whitinsville, Massachusetts
    There was never a 1.8, or 1.9 liter engine offered, or found in a 91' Civic. And in all reality, unless the exact displacement was rounded up Honda never made a 1.9 motor. Ever.


    Your mechanic is full of crap. Hmotors is a pretty good source for JDM motors, and I highly doubt they were screwing you. Vtec? Check for the solenoid.
     
  5. friz

    friz Senior Member

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Location:
    OZ
    Post a picture of the engine and ECU. Some one here will tell you what you got. Did you wire the Vtec and the knock sensor when it was installed?
     
  6. flydex28

    flydex28 Senior Member

    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Location:
    Oregon coast
    It doesnt say on the ECU what kind it is?
     
  7. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    well then how did the mechanic know where the ECU came from?

    Home boy is stupid. check your timing make sure it isnt set to full retard. 3 times now people have told me "Where is my VTEC HORSEPOWER AT?" and there distributor at the end of the mount.
     
  8. GSRCIVICTN

    GSRCIVICTN Lost in a sea of rednecks

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    It will have numbers and letters that will tell a lot but it won't spell out "This is an ECU for a JDM SIRII".
    I'd would also like to see this engine. Never heard of a 1.9L.
     
  9. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    ummmm, i want to see how this turns out. but either way, someone is either a liar or extremely dumb. and my guess wouldnt be hmotors though.
     
  10. Silver_Surfer

    Silver_Surfer Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    well i imagine the shop couldnt locate the sensor that we are needing, so he came up with this elaborate story. Either way i KNOW its not anything but a b16.. shit its eched on the block. I mean yea you could fake that.. but why
     
  11. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Your mechanic is an idiot.
     
  12. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    to sell you a zc for $1500. but i doubt thats the case hear.
     
  13. Silver_Surfer

    Silver_Surfer Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
  14. SlushboxTeggy

    SlushboxTeggy It's only stupid if it doesn't work VIP

    Messages:
    9,392
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    what are we looking for here? i doubt that those disconnected hoses are your dilema, but thats all i see that looks out of place.
     
  15. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct

    i also noticed at the trottle body....that black little plug on the top......that is where a map sensor hose is supposed to go...now if u have a wall mounted map sensor.....make sure the hoses are connected....that would be one reason for the check engine light to come on....if your car is supposed to accept a map sensor on the throttle body....and you dont have a map sensor on the throttle body...then chances are your map sensor wires are not connected

    and now that i look at those pics closely.....you dont have a map sensor on the firewall neither the throttle body.......looks like u have no map sensor on that car.......so mayb thats why ur car is acting up
     
  16. Silver_Surfer

    Silver_Surfer Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    well the first task at hand was to try to determine if it was the correct engine
     
  17. lil_red_si

    lil_red_si Senior Member

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Location:
    west haven,ct

    ummm....ok then...yea it is an sirII so.....now u know ur prob...map sensor.....possibly limp mode?
     
  18. Silver_Surfer

    Silver_Surfer Junior Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    well i see some map sensors on ebay. I see where the hose connection is to be made. Where are the wires supposed to be connected?
     
  19. friz

    friz Senior Member

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Location:
    OZ
    Step 1
    Kick mechanic that thinks is a 1.9l in nuts

    Step 2
    Kick mechanic that did swap in nuts. (Looks Rough)

    Step 3
    Kick friend in nuts. (Tell him to clean the engine bay. Looks like hell.)

    Step 4
    Find out what code are being thrown. Research how to fix.
     
  20. GSRCIVICTN

    GSRCIVICTN Lost in a sea of rednecks

    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I agree with Mr. SI. MAP is a very important input to the PCM. Start by pulling codes, or just retrieve you flash codes. Very easy.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page