1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

location of

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> ED-EF / DA' started by ^crx^, Jun 30, 2004.

  1. ^crx^

    ^crx^ Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    hello.
    can some one tell me where i find the VTEC solenoiden, VTEC pressure switch, knock sensor og 2nd O2 sensor on a b16a1?
     
  2. 88bluehf

    88bluehf Senior Member

    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    Denton,TX
    vtec solenoid and pressure switch are on the left hand side of the head. knock sensor is on the back of the block. and 02 sensors are on the exhaust.
     
  3. 88bluehf

    88bluehf Senior Member

    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    Denton,TX
    vtec pressure switch has two wires going into it. solenoid has one
     
  4. 88bluehf

    88bluehf Senior Member

    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    Denton,TX
  5. ^crx^

    ^crx^ Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    tnx.
    but when i compared the old wiring with the new, the only difference i found was the new had a big round contact with 10 wires and the old had a square with 6.
    would it just be easyer for me to hook up on that if i could find out what 4 wires is the right one?
     
  6. 88bluehf

    88bluehf Senior Member

    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Location:
    Denton,TX
    its gonna be easier to modify your existing harness in your car...just add the appropriate lines in the new harness.
     
  7. ^crx^

    ^crx^ Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    but the ¨new¨ engine came with the all the wires in the right place so I`m going to use this and hook me up on it.

    is i dangerous to solder in the ecu? the tv/radio repair shops here did not have any connectors to shrink on the wires
     
  8. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    :no: You can't use the stock harness. It won't fit. You'll end up having to lengthen ALL the wires in your engine bay. USE YOUR STOCK HARNESS AND MODIFY IT. ITS REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY EASY!!!!!!!

    [edit] this only applies if its a JDM engine [/edit]
     
  9. ^crx^

    ^crx^ Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    no it is not a jdm engine so i think i will be using the old.

    are you sure that the edm b16a1 has a knock sensor? i cant find it....

    but where is the knock sensor?? i cant figure that out
     
  10. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    its a green pug on the back of the block under the intake manifold.
     
  11. ^crx^

    ^crx^ Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    okay, do you have a picture?

    wee: found it knock sensor
     
  12. ^crx^

    ^crx^ Senior Member

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    well the EDM b16 does not have it, i found the place and there was just an regular bolt hole
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page