losing power?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

Secret Place

The other day i was driving in the pouring rain, and while i was in 3rd gear i noticed that as i was holding the gas pedal down the car was jerking as if it was trying to catch. Then right after i smelled nothing burning. After a few days of not driving it, i Drove it around the block a couple of times. A few times it drove normal then a few times it would lag then id smell burning. Then it wouldnt let me go past 3000rpm then it drove normally. I have no idea what the problem is. can someone HELP!

Well what year is your car? a wet dizzy or a wet dizzy could cause this along with a few sensors in your intake that are un happy.... any air intake mods or any of the sort?

where would the dizzy be located?
sorry im new to this.
is a dizzy the distributor?

yes, distributor. it's the black thing on top where the spark plug wires plug in to on the passenger side.

What kind of smell is it? clutch? brakes? fire?

I say a burning wire smell could be the dizzy arching / grounding out due to something go overly wet, as posted above normaly on your left looking at motor on top, if u look at my engine it has the ducktape and such on it as i was puttigg a new cap on mine

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    810 KB · Views: 313
more of a firey smell and ok thank you.
What can I do to prevent this.

Last edited:
Well odds are if the dizzy got wet you could try removing the plastic cover, normaly held on with 3 bolts a #8 socket should take them off and look to see if there is any water corotion ect. I would go to a local scrap yard and see about a used one and try swapping them out, but this requires a timing light or if your old scool with points and such then you can install with out one.... How mechanical savvy are u?