1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ls A Or B Swap

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by Canuck 93 Civic Si, Mar 19, 2003.

  1. Canuck 93 Civic Si

    Canuck 93 Civic Si Senior Member

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Why is it not recommended to swap a B18A into a 92-95 civic?
     
  2. vtecsir1

    vtecsir1 Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,313
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    as long as its a 92 and up then there isnt a problem.
     
  3. B18A is the shit for EG's. My friend has 93 EG B18A turbo w/ fully built head on stock internals, runs mid 13.
     
  4. Nopspawn

    Nopspawn Senior Member

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Location:
    So Cal
    It's just that some of the B18a's are odb0 when your car is odb1, so to make the swap easier swap the engine with the same odb. So 92-93 b18a, or 94-95 b18b.
     
  5. ekPhred

    ekPhred Senior Member

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002


    I don't think that it's NOT a recommended swap by any means. I think that's a respectable swap to do nowadays. it's good for everyday driving around the town and if you want to get crazy down the line, you can drop in a turbo if you would like.
     
  6. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Some are OBD 0 and they all have cable clutch's,92+ civics use hydraulic.That is why.
     
  7. E_SolSi

    E_SolSi Member of the 20 nut club Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    30,029
    Likes Received:
    3,957
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    CT

    :withstupid:
     
  8. Canuck 93 Civic Si

    Canuck 93 Civic Si Senior Member

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
    Could i use a tranny from a GSR with a hydro clutch?
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    Yes,you could use any hydraulic B series tranny(except the CRV).
     
  10. iamane12d

    iamane12d Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    i wouldnt like a an LS motor because it doesnt have VTEC... i think GSR would be a much better choice
     
  11. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    i'm proud of you. no go be a retard somewhere else.

    b16vx is right- cable tranny, and buying a hydro one is going to run you 500 for an ls, 800 for a gsr 1200 for a type R. the plugs are different if its obd0.
    the b18b1 head is better than the b18a. it has better cams, better itnake manifold, and .2 more compression.

    just get a freakin b18b and stop trying to cut corners. it will be cheaper and faster in the long run anyway, not to mention a lot less of a head ache
     
  12. Canuck 93 Civic Si

    Canuck 93 Civic Si Senior Member

    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Location:
    Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

    Since my first post ive found a B18B thats in good shape and I should be picking it up shortly ( horray ) :lol:.

    Had i known in advance that the B18A sucks, I wouldnt try to "cut corners" so relax guy, put you feet up.
     
  13. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    I don't think he was talking to you,probably the guy who posted before him. ;) You'll be happier with the B18B,good job.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page