1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LS to GSR or ITR

Discussion in 'Integra' started by TegraDoc, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. TegraDoc

    TegraDoc New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Location:
    Tx
    I am currently deployed to the wonderful country of Afghanistan, and, when I get back, I want to up the power on my 00 Teg LS. I was looking at motor swaps to something with VTec, nothing complicated, nothing too expensive, so, should I spend 2500 on the GSR or the 4500 on the ITR? I will be boosting it later down the line, but just trying to get some input as to what you guys would suggest. Also, correct me if Im wrong, but the red line on both those are higher than on the LS motor, how do I change my tac correctly after the swap? Any help would be great, thanx.
     
  2. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    If your gunna boost, I say just keep the LS, freshen it up and boost that. Itll save you money and you can still knock down some pretty decent power numbers. You could spend the money for the swap on boost and a tune, then you could spend that money later down the road on some more agressive parts for you LS. If your dead set on havin VTEC, then the GSR would be the better motor to boost. The ITR is a purpose built N/A performer.
     
  3. FLounder

    FLounder power hungry VIP

    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    137
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    north palm beach, FL
    yeah what he said ^

    ....your LS will be nasty if you put $4500 into it for turbo
     
  4. IanB

    IanB MB4 X2

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Echo, echo, echo. Agreed on all points, LS with boost would be great, if you need vtec and plan to boost go GSR and put an LSD in the tranny before you do the swap.
     
  5. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    All you would need to do is swap to a GS-R or Type R cluster. It's 100% plug and play.

    I also recommend simply boosting the LS though...
     
  6. TegraDoc

    TegraDoc New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Location:
    Tx
    Well, sounds good, I might keep my LS, Im lookin' to put down in the area of 350, plus or minus, just something I can enjoy, once I have that kind of power output I will focus on suspension and what not. Can anyone suggest a bolt on kit or kit of any kind or should I piece it together myself? Again, any help is great, thanx.
     
  7. newb

    newb phresh VIP

    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    179
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    Backwoods Northwest
    An LS with boost will meet your power goal without a problem. As far as kits go, its usually cheaper to piece your own togather. Also, when you piece one togather you will get everything you want, and you wont have to compromise anything. For the suspension and brakes, you really should do those before you hit your power goal. Remember, your tryin to put down 3 times the power your car was meant to have.
     
  8. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    its usually smarter to do the suspension and brakes first.. try stopping/handling a 350hp Honda on stock brakes/suspension
     
  9. whyamionahondaforum

    whyamionahondaforum New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    not trying to thread jack or anything.....but i have a 00 gs
    I know i could prolly find it if i searched but i am a collage student who works two jobs so please cut me some slack. my free time is limited. i am looking for enough horsepower to put down low 12's, about how much power am I looking at???
     
  10. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Nice..."I'm not trying to thread-jack, but yeah, basically I'm thread-jacking..."

    If you don't have time to do a little research on here, then you don't have time to build a 12 second Integra. Just take it to a shop, and tell them you want to run 12s. Oh, and hand them a blank check also...
     
  11. whyamionahondaforum

    whyamionahondaforum New Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    na, i think that a simple answer of generally what I would need would have been fine and the thread could have kept going. no need to post a new thread for one reply of someone saying you need .....If you know why not just say it. and be done with it?
     
  12. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    1.) Don't jack threads. Just don't do it. Even if your question seems small, you're still butting in on somebody else's thread. If you make your own then all of your questions and answers will be contained there, and not littering someone else's discussion.

    2.) You need to start your own thread because the answer to your question isn't a simple one. Like I said, if you don't have the time to research this, then you don't have the time to build it. Take it to a shop and tell them what you want.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page