1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LS/VTEC First Build EVER.

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by EKJOE, Aug 22, 2008.

  1. EKJOE

    EKJOE New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Now I have been doing alot of searching....Im not going to pretend like I know anything about this subject...Because if I did, I wouldnt be posting this.

    Im sure this is more than likely the same bullshit question you guys get all the time...But I just need an anwser, So I can move on and start buying what I need. Now theres more than enough info on the LS/VTEC everywhere...and im clear on everything but this.


    I have a B18A1 Block (1990-1993 Integra GS/RS/LS)

    I have a B16A2 Head (1999-2000 Civic Si)

    I have a 1997 Honda Civic Hatch (EK)

    ECU and Harness configuration? What is it?


    I was thinking a GSR (B18C1) harness and a civic si ECU (P2T) But then I start thinking thats not right.

    Tell me whats up guys...Im burnt on trying to figure this out, And I dont want to order the wrong shit.
     
  2. George777

    George777 ^^ Likes Bewbies

    Messages:
    2,917
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    With your mom
    IIRC, you want to use the ECU that matches the head.
     
  3. EKJOE

    EKJOE New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    So basicly, Im on the right track. The harness has to be for 3 things. The block, VTEC and manual transmission. (GSR harness)

    The ECU needs to be for the head. (P2T)

    Both OBD2.
     
  4. EKJOE

    EKJOE New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Yea I have read the whole entire article and have it printed out sitting at the shop.

    I said in my first post...That I have done alot of searching and reading and Im solid on everything but this subject.

    So Blanco, Do you have anything to add to this thread thats relevant to my inital question?
     
  5. EKJOE

    EKJOE New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Well I guess you dont have anything to add.
     
  6. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    Use the harness that matches the head.
    Use the ECU which matches the whole engine build, OR a chipped ECU.

    You're wanting to use an ECU that's for a 1.6l engine with a 1.8l engine. I'd highly suggest you do some more reading, because this will not work well. If you're doing an OBD2 build (which it looks like you are), you won't be able to chip your ECU, so you need to reconsider the head you choose.

    If you want a vtec 1.8l B-Series and you need to keep OBD2, I'd get a b18c engine, harness, and ECU.


    Everyone else lambasted you for asking this, because this is all freely available on the interwebs, there's no secret password.
     
  7. EKJOE

    EKJOE New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    I already have the head and block and its all coming together...So unfortunatly, theres no choosing a different head....its a b16a2.

    I understand that theres tons of info related to this subject,but the reason im posting is because there doesnt seem to be tons of info related to MY setup.

    Whats wrong with running all OBD2? Why would my ECU need to be chipped?

    If I have an ECU that controls VTEC and a manual tranny, whats the problem? Are you saying that I cant have the car tuned without the ECU being chipped?
     
  8. awptickes

    awptickes unimpressed by you VIP

    Messages:
    9,279
    Likes Received:
    499
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Location:
    MD
    There is a reason there isn't much info. It's because you can't do it and stay OBD2. But by all means, please try it, and try to prove me wrong.

    Nothing. Nothing at all. I just think you're going to be disappointed with the outcome, given the parts choices you've made.

    Because you're using a non-standard setup. You're using an ECU that wants an engine displacing 1.6L. Your engine displaces 1.8L. Do you see the problem?

    The ECU might switch VTEC on, but not at the correct RPM to continue a smooth power curve, but that's if it even revs to the VTEC point. You'll be running the engine extremely lean, because the ECU won't be expecting that extra 50cc per cylinder of air. Lean engines tend to melt pistons and burn valves.

    No, I'm just saying that you should use the correct ECU. Since you cannot use the correct ECU, you need to 'chip' an ECU, or run a piggyback. I won't get into this, but piggybacks tend to screw things up. Yes people have had success with piggybacks, but all they do is modify the ECU's signals, and that tends to make unexpected things happen.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. EKJOE

    EKJOE New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Thank You!

    Man I appreciate that responce.

    I need to go OBD1 Harness and ECU.
     
  10. EKJOE

    EKJOE New Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Yea screw that. I almost messed up.

    It will be a OBD1 P72 with OBD2 harness and jumper harness.

    I dont know Blanco...I did alot of searching around....and the more peoples senarios I read the more confused I got, because everyone is doing somthing different.

    I always saw everyone was using OBD1 stuff but I thought that was because of the enigine components being older (OBD1) heads and blocks. Im new to it...So cut me some slack.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page