ls vtec?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

pelekeliko

i have a 96 LS. I have purchased a 97 GSR head and what i think is everything i am going to need to do the complete swap properly.

I purchased a P72 ECU, will i be able to keep my stock distributor?! will it fit onto the 97 GSR head?

and sorry if this is a dumb question but, can someone explain what the knock sensor is? wat it does? do i need to purchase one?

thanks in advance.. please remember i am new to imports and swaps!

im not trying to shoot you down, or bash you. but if you dont know what a knock sensor is, you should not try ls/vtec. there is more than you think. you must have your Ls blocked tapped for the sensor, and run a oil line to your head, ect.

oh no its all good. but i have a buddy that is helping me out with the swap, he has been working on cars for a living for about 6 years. but like i said new to imports. i purchased the golden eagle conversion kit, got the head bolts, got the ECU, all the new belts, and water pump. so its kind of late now to change my mind. i have read up as much as i could before i really dedicated my money and time to the swap but recently (as in today) the whole knock sensor came into play and i was like OH F***. cus i thought i had everything i needed and was ready to go. thats the only reason why im curious. but i will really appreciate all the help you can give me bro!

ok, your knock sensor is obviously in the back of the block. not the exact location im having a brainfart, but "most" shops, will tap your block in the correct location for the sensor for like 50-75 bucks. so you insert the sensor, run the wires to the correct pin on your ECU. then it sounds like you have everything to do it..