1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

lsvtec question!?

Discussion in 'Engine Building' started by RS1, Oct 12, 2003.

  1. RS1

    RS1 Junior Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    aite i have a LS motor, that im thinking about doing a LS/vtec on, im just planning on putting new oem, bearings rings, with b16pistons, and get a b16 head slapped on, what else do i need? and how much would the cost be? thanks
     
  2. arpee79

    arpee79 Senior Member

    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    sheit i need the same info what ls motor you have? is it the b18a or b18b
     
  3. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    there's a lot more to it than just "slapping" on the head.
    you need to run the oil lines, the wiring for the vtec, the ecu to control it, and so forth.
     
  4. arpee79

    arpee79 Senior Member

    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    ? where does the tappin take place on the block,head or both and what spot exactly how much will a machine shop charge for it more or less ?

    lets say it will run in my 90 civic and will replace the b16 i have OBD-0,what year ECU & wich one would i need to USE i imagine a OBD-0 ECU but wich one to make the vtec head WORK?.

    1 more little Question i have a b18A and i was reading that the b18B has a bit more HP & torque............Can i change something to make it have the same torque & HP as the b18b like lets say the crank flywheel rods pistons.


    OH and whats the most i can bore out the cylinder since i have a blown piston in #1 cylinder............ like the absolute limit.

    THANKS A BUNCH and sorry to take over this post but i think he needs pretty much the same info im asking for.


    :worthy: :worthy: :worthy: THANKS ALL
     
  5. EGLSHB

    EGLSHB Senior Member

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    use the head you already have, and the ecu as well...

    basically, you will only be replacing the bottome end with that of the b18...
     
  6. arpee79

    arpee79 Senior Member

    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
  7. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    try to get a better tranny than that LS long gear mofo for any setup.
     
  8. arpee79

    arpee79 Senior Member

    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003

    like wich one that the only one i can use with long gears for my LS VTEC
    it has to be cable KEEP IN MIND.
     
  9. lsvtec

    lsvtec GNU/Linux Evangelist

    Messages:
    5,453
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Greater Portland, OR

    You still have plenty of tranny choices. The JDM 88-91 B16 tranny or the 92-93 GSR tranny for instance.
     
  10. JDMilan

    JDMilan Senior Member

    Messages:
    6,730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2003
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    I used the S1, it's cheap and is the SiR gearing of the cables..
     
  11. arpee79

    arpee79 Senior Member

    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    I have 2 projects B16 f1rst Gen TURBO & LSvtec N/A
    the b16 came with a Y1 tranny,wich sucks Balls cuz 1st its grinding on 2nd
    and then it has those short gears wich ,akes it uncomfortable to drive in the freeway. As for the GSR tranny of a B17A i really doubt i will find one since their rare already.Is thier another b16 tranny with long gears like th Y1
    or is the ls a good start.

    1 more ? will my factory LSD from my Y1 b16 tranny fit on the YS1 LS tranny.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page