1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Making a patch cable CAT5 5e 6

Discussion in 'Members' Lounge' started by reckedracing, May 29, 2018.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,300
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    I know some of you guys do this type of stuff.
    I am needing to run some cable at home for home office use and have some CAT5 spooled wire, and just ordered a crimp tool and RJ45 connectors from amazon.
    Any pointers I should watch out for? I know about the pairings and braiding and use the same color codes on both ends etc. Back up plan is a 50 or 100 ft pre-made cable which are already both on hand. I just don't want to drill half inch holes in my house when a much smaller hole with do if I can get these ends on the cable myself.

    Back story, OL works in health care and is being moved to 100% WAH. Work is putting in a dedicated business class cable line. WIFI is a strict no-no apparently.

    More back story. The electrician that wired our office screwed the pooch by using the A scheme on one end of the cables and the B scheme on the other end of the cables. The day the office moved in we ended up having to pay the IT people to speed test and redo all the cables. So I know enough to ask you guys ahead of time.
     
  2. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    25,148
    Likes Received:
    973
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    Briansol and reckedracing like this.
  3. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,300
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    ahhhh good pointer there, thanks for the tip
     
  4. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,780
    Likes Received:
    279
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Your first 10 or so cables are gonna suck, so practice a few times on a short piece that you can cut down and retry a few times until you get a feel for it.
    Don't strip the wires before hand.
    Make sure the connector is facing the right way when you try and line up the wires (I always do tab up, some folks always do tab down, just be consistent to make sure the order is correct).
     
    reckedracing likes this.
  5. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    25,148
    Likes Received:
    973
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    i always do tab down, cuz i can see them slide into the 8 little conduits.
     
  6. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,893
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    :ph34r:
     
    jamesA and TurboMirage like this.
  7. jamesA

    jamesA I'm a gun addict now. VIP

    Messages:
    16,472
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Newer switches it won't matter if it's a crossover.
     
  8. jamesA

    jamesA I'm a gun addict now. VIP

    Messages:
    16,472
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    I have had better luck running from non-pre-made spools, and doing jacks/plates. There is always the chance of snagging and ripping off the tabs making them almost useless... ESPECIALLY if the walls are insulated.
     
    D16Civic likes this.
  9. D16Civic

    D16Civic Matt

    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    200
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    Chesterfield Twp, MI
    I agree. And if aesthetics matter the plates are the way to go. I hate to just drill a big hole and stuff a fitting through. Drives me crazy
     
  10. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,300
    Likes Received:
    1,349
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    So I ended up having a spool of 5e in the basement at the office from our 2005-2007 ish build out.
    Ordered the crimp tool and ends from amazon with a tester.
    Cut off a couple 4-6 inch pieces to give it a practice run. Did 2 fittings on one piece and it tested ok so I just went for it.

    Tried to drill a 1/4" hole but the drill bit wasn't long enough to make it through the baseboard, hardwood and subfloor.
    Ended up having to use the 3/8" bit anyway as it was longer and long enough. Ran the wire, installed ends, tested with tester, and then hooked it up.
    All in all I consider it a success. Went a lot smoother than I figured it would.

    I wish I had a longer 1/4" drill bit but I don't care about the baseboard as its trash anyway.
    If it were new baseboard and drywall I would have considered a plate for aesthetics, but chances are the room will be redone in a few years anyway.

    Thanks for all the pointers and tips. I use the B scheme and tab down.
     
    jamesA and TurboMirage like this.
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page