Manager vs. Leader

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

After posting that picture, no one is going to say that they are Managers.

I've been a Manager, and am pursuing a job as Manager. Most people have no idea how hard it is - Making people happy from above and below, and still making a better bottom line.

I'm a leader by personality type, but I learned something from doing so...

... Whats the quickest way to get fired with a folder full of recommendations ?

Be a leader.

If you go against management, even once, you're fucked forever. I helped my last boss' marriage and she still canned me. I had a petition signed by the entire staff to bring me back, and it was ignored. I tried my best to make sense and make the best of things, instead of politically best - and was shown the door for it. And not just once, but at many times in my career.

What I've learned is a little from what others have learned : I don't work for women anymore. Even when the employment team talked to her about my firing, she said "I just didn't feel right with him around".

Being a leader is useless if you can't get the trust of managment. It's "their" people you're toying with.

It's not right, but it makes sense. No one can deny that.

The only thing about leadership positions, you have to basically be two-faced. you have to please your managers, while making your people think you are friends with them. it's a tough thing to do.

it happens everywhere. the office, military, even on the football field. leaders have to please everybody.