Manual to Automatic transmission swap

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

tiffmd

I know, why would someone want to go from a manual to an automatic... I have a 1994 Honda Civic EX Coupe with a 1.6L V-TEC engine. It's currently a manual and I am a horrible stick driver. I love my car and don't want to get rid of it so was wondering if it's at all possible to swap a manual transmission for an automatic? Does it require a whole engine swap? If anyone can give me a breakdown of what would need to be done to do this I would really appreciate it. It doesn't have to be detailed, I won't be doing it myself, I just wanted a general idea. Thanks!

I'd say it would be the biggest pain in the ass, if you could even accomplish it. There are too many wires that have to run from the tcu to the shifters and to the transmission. My bet is that you would get it done and have so many problems you'd never see the end of it. Just running the list of parts through my head makes it seem ridiculous.

Your best bet, go practice driving a stick.

that's what I figured...