1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

maybe found a loophole

Discussion in 'Civic and del Sol - EG and EK' started by mintoxik, Aug 12, 2008.

  1. mintoxik

    mintoxik Member

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside
    so back to this timing thing i have to d15b8 block z6 head i've read that you need the z6 timing belt right??? because of the tooth difference or w/e but what if i took the cam gear from my b8 and put it on my z6 ???? would it work ?
     
  2. Luis998

    Luis998 Honda Enthusiast

    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    55
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    *smack* No short cuts! Get an aftermarket cam gear so that you will be able to adjust the timing properly. :D
     
  3. mintoxik

    mintoxik Member

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside
    i have the z6 timing belt i was just wondering

    damn my face hurts hahaha
     
  4. BrutalB83

    BrutalB83 Brutal Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    302
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Location:
    Rochester Hills, MI
    Yeah man, don't mess with Luis, dude's got a mean backhand! :D
     
  5. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    What's the loophole?

    Yes, use a Z6 timing belt. It's pointless to use an adjustable cam gear if the belt itself is too tight. I've never heard of timing issues except for cam swaps and milled heads.
     
  6. mintoxik

    mintoxik Member

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside
    the loophole would be not having to change the timing belt but just changeing the cam gear to change the tooth difference because the d15 has 103 teeth and the z6 has 104 so changing the cam gear and putting on my d15 would eliminate changing the belt thus makeing my life easier it was just an idiea
    and the question wasnt using an adjustiable cam gear it would be swaping stock gears
     
  7. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    In that case: All D-series cam gears are the same minus the DOHC ones and the 96 and up ones!

    88-95=PM3B cam gears. Not sure about the number on the 96-00 D16Y's, but they have a half-tooth difference.
     
  8. mintoxik

    mintoxik Member

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside
    if both my cam gears are the same then why do i have to use the z6 timing ??
     
  9. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    The Z6 timing belt is a different length.
     
  10. mintoxik

    mintoxik Member

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside
  11. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Yup. 104 teeth vs 106 IIRC
     
  12. mintoxik

    mintoxik Member

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oceanside
  13. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,448
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    right, basically you won't be able to get the right tension on the belt.

    it has nothing to do with the actual teeth/spacing.... just the ammount of them in the total length of the belt
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page