MCSE options?

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

YouKnowWhoIBee

my avatar is better.
I work in the IT field, but i am very very inexperienced. This job fell into my lap, i took it and i wanna run with it and start to make better money. I want to know if I go out and get my MCSE, that would that be enough, to find a better career but i lack time at a relevant job. So my basic scenario is, I can get training, courses and books for right around 4000. It is 45 minutes away, but i am willing to do this if i know it will benefit me. The course is 7 modules, http://www.asmed.com/schedules/mcsa_e41-mcse_e41.pdf and cover MCP, MCSE and MCSA. So i will come out with the 3 generally needed skills... would it be worth it to look into?

best bet is to get as much experience as you can first. those MCSE tests cover 75% of networking you will NEVER EVER TOUCH.

start easy :)

It is definitely worth looking at. Have you got your A+, Network+ and Security+ yet? I started studying for my A+ cert so hopefully ill be taking that soon. I would start with the lower level/less costly certs first. But thats just my two cents.

best bet is to get as much experience as you can first. those MCSE tests cover 75% of networking you will NEVER EVER TOUCH.

start easy :)

Fuckin' :werd:

I've learned the real world basics and inter-workings of networking from real life experience, I got Bs in class and honestly have used maybe 25% of what I learned.

Holy shit, that makes 100% don't it? :p

Anyone claiming to "cover MCP" is wasting your time. I think theres like 25 different tests for that cert now that you can choose from. There's no way a class can teach you everything on that.

I've said it a hundred times now... but i could care less what is on your resume in terms of education when i'm looking to hire.
the ONE thing I look at, is what you can SHOW ME you have done.

If you can't show me you've done anything, NEXT.