1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

memory usage spikes in Firefox

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by eg6sir, May 5, 2010.

  1. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    I keep getting these memory usage spikes w/ Firefox.. where its using 99% of the CPU usage ..
    Memory usage is 136,844k
    VM size is 135,820k

    these numbers have been higher, its just what its at right now... its pissing me off because the internet keeps freezing..

    anyone got a fix?
     
  2. 95b16coupe

    95b16coupe New Member

    Messages:
    6,538
    Likes Received:
    224
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    ct
    stop surfing porn.

    when my comp does that, i usually have something on it that shouldn't be run some scans asap.
     
  3. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i did.. didnt pull up anything.. i ran CCleaner too
     
  4. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Do you have a bunch of plug in's installed?
     
  5. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i dont think so.. i'll check

    there are 4 different people who use this computer... any way to password the internet?
     
  6. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    looked like a bunch of DivX plugins for Netscape and Mozilla

    which ones do i need so i can disable the rest?
     
  7. ripperbone

    ripperbone angry bear

    Messages:
    3,173
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    im having the same problem with firefox, right now i am on IE
     
  8. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Ill pull out my netbook here in a bit and check the numbers.
     
  9. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    suppose i'll do the same and see if its any different.. should be since i never use IE
     
  10. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    When was the last time defrag and disk clean up where ran?
     
  11. kelsodeez

    kelsodeez New Member

    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Location:
    bay area, CA
    disable all plugins, clear the cache and delete all cookies. then if it is working fine, test out each plugin individually.find the problem plugin and delete it.

    edit: also, i dont know if firefox uses plist files, but deleting those help my browser speed alot.
     
  12. fattygone

    fattygone New Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Hey, I have a fix for you... Uninstall Firefox, and download Chrome.
    -if you don't want to support Google, you can even use ChromePlus (which I prefer)...
    -VERY STABLE.
    -Do not bog up.
    -Better look and feel?
    -Extensions replace plugins...

    Just try it. I used to be a DIE HARD firefox user... But after using chrome a bit, I switched over, give it a go.
    (BTW: Chrome usually beats FF in almost every aspect of performance).
     
  13. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
    cant stand chrome. FF has been acting up for me but i just deal with it.
     
  14. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    yea.. i've tried chrome.. didnt like it
     
  15. fattygone

    fattygone New Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Mmm sorry to hear that.. Do you just like the aesthetic of Firefox or?
     
  16. eg6sir

    eg6sir Supa Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    21,703
    Likes Received:
    321
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Location:
    661 BK CA
    i'm used to firefox... :D i'll stick with it
     
  17. TurboMirage

    TurboMirage YEEAAAHHH VIP

    Messages:
    24,580
    Likes Received:
    696
    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Location:
    Central, MA
  18. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    Firefox is a known memory hog. If you don't have a particularly fast computer, I'd go with chrome.
     
  19. Drake

    Drake Well-Known Member VIP

    Messages:
    8,633
    Likes Received:
    420
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Chrome is also owned by Google. And that is my biggest problem with it. They have enough of my god damn information. No need to give them my browsing habits.
     
  20. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    They'll get them one way or the other. You can't stop the mighty Goog!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page