Mixed up my rocker arms uh oh

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

vwfox361

About a year ago i picked up a gsr head missing the cams and valve train as i planned to use it on my b20 later. The rocker arms came all mixed up in a bag which i later came to find was a BIG no no. Since then i managed to pick up a 2000 si valve train and cams with 26,xxx miles on them.

SOO heres the million dollar question....is there any way to help this problem without buying new rocker arms. I am a poor college student looking for cheap vtec thrills.

Seems like the biggest problem would be with the rocker arm that the vtec lobe sits on. The others should be ok as i can adjust the lash on them.

Is there any way to measure wear on the rocker arms? To the human eyeball they all look to be in tip top shape.

Could i get away with using the semi fresh b16 cams and adjust lash 4-5 times in the first xxx miles and change oil often and early?

What would be worst case scenario if i used the b16 cams and valvetrain and my rocker amrs were actually badly worn?

This motor will never see past 8200rpm with this stock set up.

Best regards,
B20 he whishes he had vtec Mike........:ph34r:

bump indeeed i got a respone on another forum guy said as long as the vtec pins on the rockers work i shouldnt have ne problems with my vtec enaging which seems to be one of the main problems when people do this.....no vtec

More Feedback!!!!!!

hmm. crap. my vtec's not wired up and i don't have diddly shit for a history on the armchair mechanic's GSR swap in my new project car. of course, now i'm thinking obviously it must be because my rockers are fuxxord too and dude knew it. :D

in for read eeeeeven more now. bump for the knowledgeable. c'mon!