1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

motherboard died

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by Briansol, Dec 25, 2009.

  1. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    well, i think it's the motherboard at least.
    FF was acting weird (flash stopped working) so i rebooted.
    it never came back up.

    nothing happens on boot up. not POST, no beeps. monitor never turns on.
    sometimes it loops on 5 secs, off 5 seconds.

    pulled the ram 1 at a time, nothing.
    disconnected the hard drive, nothing
    pulled the cmos battery, turned on, turned off, replaced, nothing
    get even get into bios.
    so, i think the board is toast.

    i currently have a DFI lan party p35-based board with a core2quad q6600.

    i'd like to find something that will work with all my hardware on the cheap.
    p35 seems to be obsolete already, so options are slim.

    Whats a decent replacement that will run my 775 socket and ddr2 ?

    looking to spend < 100 if possible. i'm broke and this sucks. willing to sacrifice perforance for some cash savings.
     
  2. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    no post beeps = ram or motherboard. since you already tested the ram one stick at a time, your assumption is correct.

    If i were you (i dont think you're an over clocker) I'd go with one of these:

    Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP43-UD3L LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
    Newegg.com - ASUS P5QL/EPU LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

    Or just wait till tomorrow, hit up newegg. do a search for P43/45 motherboards from ASUS,DFI,MSI,GIGABYTE,ABIT (in no particular order). Just double check that they support whatever speed you're running your ram at (probably DDR2 1066).

    Since you're not an overclocker you're really not going to see any noticeable performance gains between the P43 and P45 and most of the P45s are DDR3.

    To recap, look for a good brand and P4X chipset and all should be fine.
     
  3. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    my ram is ddr2 800 and my cpu is 1033 FSB. I also need an sli or something similar for my video card. (its a dual link card to run my 30" monitor)

    so, basically I don't need another p35 chipset... a newer chipset that will hold socket 775 with my bus speeds will match?
     
  4. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    I was going to ask if you checked the power supply, but I guess reiko has you all squared away.
     
  5. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    DFI boards are REALLY annoying at times. Try a 24hr cmos clear. Take out the battery and place the jumper in clear for 24 hours and then try again. Im not sure why they are temperamental but they are definitely not user friendly unless youre advance (not saying that you arent).

    anyway, i dont think any Pxx does SLi, but the P45 does do crossfire. Why do you need sli or cf? Dual link doesnt require either to run a monitor of that size because a PCIe 8x/16x should have more than enough bandwidth to support it.

    As for as mobos go, top tiers are currently ASUS and Gigabyte. EVGA is there but thats more for overclockers.
     
  6. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    I run an ASUS P5Q-E, P45 chipset, DDR2 1200. It has a 775 socket.

    I'd go with the P5Q-L that Reiko suggested. ASUS makes a damn fine Mobo.
     
  7. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    I guess i'll try the 24 hour. i've unplugged everything down to the cpu, and i still can't even get it to beep.

    I've also noticed that my LED for ram power isn't lighting up red like the manual says it should. its green.

    Ram even removed doesn't change that light. hrm.


    hrm, i don't know. i have an 8800gts in the 16x slot.
     
  8. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  9. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    yeah some dfi boards apparently "die" and after a few months of no life it suddenly "revives". really old.

    but yes youre ram should work with the board. and youre video card should work as well with full res.
     
  10. K2e2vin

    K2e2vin Senior Member

    Messages:
    8,446
    Likes Received:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    MSI has never failed me(had a socket A one and now have a AM3 one; GD70). I had a Gigabyte board burn(Socket A) and a Abit board just randomly die. I have friends with Asus with no problems either.
     
  11. josh_crewdson@y

    josh_crewdson@y New Member

    Messages:
    438
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    nova
    check the power supply if you haven't already, it sounds like that could be your problem, i've had two do the same thing to me before and both times it was the ps.
     
  12. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    power supply is ok... the board turns on and all fans spin.
     
  13. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    i swear i responded to this.

    anyway, just buy a good branded board with sli support and lga 775 a pXX chipset and you'll be fine. pretty much every board in production will work for your set up.
     
  14. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Most of the affordable Intel chipsets won't do SLI though. Go find an nVidia 680i or 780i chipset board. Those will support all socket 775 CPUs and give you full 16x SLI on both slots at the same time.
     
  15. klyph

    klyph Dismember VIP

    Messages:
    6,342
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Location:
    North Pole, AK
    Uh, you did.
     
  16. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    i meant a second time
     
  17. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    did the 24hr cmos clear work? mm have you tried moving the ram into a different slot? and trying different ram 1 at a time? well since you said its not beeping, most likely it died.

    and with the video card he has, no way is he close to hitting his bandwidth limit, even on 8x.
     
  18. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    haven't tried putting it back together yet. i should do that now.

    and yes, i did the ram swap already...
     
  19. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
  20. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,456
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page