motor choices

We may earn a small commission from affiliate links and paid advertisements. Terms

hello, i am new to the swaping of import engines and would like some opinions or facts, i have a 94 civic ex coupe, it has a D16Z6 with an automatic trans, i want to do a swap very soon but i do not want any smog problems as of yet, the question i have is which one will work for me now, and will i be able to build the motor later and achive the hp. that will make me happy, basicly for now i want a (leagal) daily driver, i also want to convert to 5 spd., what should i look at buying. i am in las vegas nv and i am not positive on the laws.

thanks

Buy a 94+ B16/18 and swap it in. If it's US spec it will pss no problems anywhere. Both are good motors, and can be built up later on to make good power. Or you could go the LS route and get yourself a B18B, which can also be made into a hell of a turbo application, or built N/A.

ok, now if i am looking for a B18 , witch one would i look for, i know everyone says gsr,gsr,gsr, but they all say jspec, but this will abviousely pose a problem for smog, do i just ask for an american gsr motor, and what is the diference in the trannys, is it just gear ratio ?

thanks

cali = smog. i doubt nevada has half as strict laws as they do.

that's the first thing to check.

but, usdm motors are plentiful as well.

if i were you, i'd pick up a usdm 94 or 95 obd1 b18c1 integra GSR motor.
hmotorsonline.com has them for about 3200 + s/h

differences in tranny's, while mostly gearing, there are other issues too. different differentials, ring gears, and other technobable that really won't make a difference to a normal person just looking for a new motor, and basic i/h/e mods after the swap.

cool , thank you for the help in making my choice, im sure i will have more questions when it comes time to do the actual swap, thanks again . :D