1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mount on the a/c bracket?! Is it needed??

Discussion in 'HYBRID -> EG-EK / DC' started by bdogggut34, Dec 21, 2004.

  1. bdogggut34

    bdogggut34 Senior Member

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    I had the A/C removed when the swap went in but now that i'm looking at some other swaps i see that the entire bracket has been removed including the rubber mount. Is the mount needed at the location i'm trying to show below:

    Bracket Pic


    does this affect stability or anything if removed?? 92 Si w/ 95 B18b
     
  2. friz

    friz Senior Member

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Location:
    OZ


    Yes it is needed, this limits the torque applied to the chassis at the mounts. It seems strange that people swap to more powerfull engines and think that it is OK to not to use all of the factory mounts? :huh:
     
  3. bdogggut34

    bdogggut34 Senior Member

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2004


    Yea its what i was thinkin, but like i said, if you look around at some swaps people have that entire bracket if taken off? :unsure: thanks!!
     
  4. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Quite a few of the aftermarket companies go with fewer mounts because they claim to be stiff enough with less than the OEM number of mounts- but I use all of them. I don't know for sure which ones they delete, but they all claim to hold the engine in place better than the stock setup.
     
  5. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    my boy has the hasport set for his b16 and the three they came with are the rear the tranny and the driver side his engine doesn't rock at all it stays really stiff, the mounts it gets rid of is the one on the bottom/front of the tranny with the three bolts and the arm, and the a/c mount. i got the avid set for mine and i don't have the a/c or the front tranny mount on and it doesn't move at all
     
  6. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Maybe I need to switch... I hate pulling that mount out when I have to change my AC belt.
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    If you're running an aftermarket mount kit, the bushings are usually stiff enough to get by without the torque mounts. I am using all OEM and didn't have the torque mounts for about a year then when I installed them it was amazing the difference in response, and overall feel when driving.
     
  8. civiclxb16

    civiclxb16 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Location:
    Poconos pa
    i agree i love those mount what a difference from when i was first driving and the motor was flying all over the place put those in and it doesn't move the only problem i have is when i am at a stop light my shifter vibates but when i am driving not a problem, i know the mounts cause that because when i had the stock mounts in there it didn't vibrate.
     
  9. friz

    friz Senior Member

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Location:
    OZ


    Yeah...That mount is a bitch. I think im going to check out the hasport kit.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page