1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Moving program files

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by xj0hnx, Aug 17, 2005.

  1. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Ok, so recently I have reorganized my PC, reinstalled, and configured most everything back to how I like it.

    I partitioned my Windows drive into two, one for Windows, and the other for ppics, music, videos, storage basicly. I only alotted 20G's for Windows and all it's parts and have HL2 installed on the same partition, along wiht a bunch of my programs.

    I want to move most of my program files over to the data partition, and run them from there, so that if Windows does somehow get a virus I can contain it and not have it effect on programs, and has less places to go. Now, I now some programs make an entry into the registry, and some will not function if they are moved. I moved a couple to try it out, and they run fine.

    What would keep a program from running if it is moved, as long as I change where it is looked for?
     
  2. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    Some programs rely more heavily on registry entries than others, so I think it would be mainly trial and error.
     
  3. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    The ones I am not moving for sure are Halflife 2 and my antivirus. ONes I am most curious about are Limewire, DVDShrink, Nero, and some others like that. I have moved Pocket Tanks, Everst Alcohol 120%, but those don't have Java integration like Lime wire and Azureus.
     
  4. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    I would think that Nero wouldn't be able to be moved, nor the antivirus. HL2 might, and the rest of them might.
     
  5. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Successfully moved:
    Doom 3 ( <|Z@(K3d ver5ion)
    Alcohol 120%
    Ad-aware
    Limewire
    Pocket Tanks Deluxe
    DVD Shrink
    Everest Ultimate Edition
    CloneCD
    Photoshop CS2 and all related folders
    Partition Magic

    Unsuccessful:
    GetDiz NFO reader
    ImToo Audio Converter
    Adobe Acrobat
    Nero

    I don't know why ImToo wouldn't, it isn't really tied to anything. HL2 uses Micro$0ft NETframew3rk so I didn't want to try moving it, as it is annoying to reinstall and update. EVerything else is either Window$ related or too integrated to bother with.
     
  6. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    You can safely move HL2 where ever the hell you want. All the files required to run it are located in your C:\valve folder. Valve conviently did this so that you can move your game arround without having to reinstall your mods. The only thing that you'll have to change are the shortcuts to it.

    *edit: so if it wern't clear, just move the whole Valve folder where you want it. It should still run.
     
  7. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.

    What about the Steam folder, just leave it, or should it go too?
     
  8. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    the registry is basically the database for your settings and config.

    when you go to remove a program through the control panel, you won't be able to, because it won't find it.

    it won't keep a profile set up for you, because it can't find it.

    your best bet, is to un-install, and then re-install, placing the desired install place on D:, not C:
     
  9. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Yea, I tried to uninstall CloneCD via the CP, and it says it thinks it is already uninstalled. I guess I could just right click delete, or use the uninstaller in the program file? And then regedit > find > <filename here> and delete the remnensce manually.
     
  10. Battle Pope

    Battle Pope New Member

    Messages:
    10,279
    Likes Received:
    60
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Southern Oregon Coast
    the uninstaller in the folder won't work either because it too looks for registry entries to tell it where the program is installed.
     
  11. Citizen_Insane

    Citizen_Insane Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,698
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    it goes C:\Valve\Steam\lots_of_files

    Just move your whole Valve folder. If you don't have a valve folder and just a Steam folder, move that.
     
  12. xj0hnx

    xj0hnx I wanna be sedated VIP

    Messages:
    14,172
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Location:
    C.C.TX.
    Just a note....

    If you move the files, none of them will survive and be usable if you do a reinstallation of windows.


    Got some more work to do.
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page