1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mpfi post swap issues.

Discussion in 'Civic and CRX - EF' started by Brent636r, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Sup guys! Ive been on this forum for awhile but never posted. I just finished my MPFI swap on my 90' dx hatch using d16z6(p32)IM, TB, td-02u distributor, resistor box w/ obd 0 injectors, and a PM6. I'm having a rough idle issue, jerking during decel and cruising. The thing wont even do 65 MPH. I soldered everything.

    1) Does this dizzy have a vacuum advance? If not what is the nipple inbetween 1 & 3?
    I have my MAP& Purge t-ed together running to the nipple on the back of my IM.

    2) I dont have 2 white wires goin to my dizzy... nor coming from the replacment.

    3) I dont have a blue/green for my cylinder position sensor. Its blue. I was throwing a code 9 but, switched the wires and that took care of it.


    Sry if i sound like an idiot. First time i've touched a Honda. oh d15b2, 4 speed, loose nut behind the wheel.

    Updates to come I'm sure.
     
  2. hosmer

    hosmer I made the millionth post VIP

    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    82
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    B R I D G E W A T E R
    did you rewire your TPS?


    using an Si engine harness?
     
  3. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    Did you rewire the injectors, and does it have a bad miss
     
  4. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    I rewired the injectors. It does have a bad miss... I didn't use an si harness. I just switched the two outside wires. I just retimed it and Im starting to think I have injectors backwards...will they run like that?
     
  5. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Actually that doesnt make sense... I put a timing light on it after I timed it putting the crank at the pointers, and lined the cam up with "up" pointing up. Using the lines on the pulley as well.
     
  6. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    ok you need to run 4 new wires to the ecu from the injectors. this happened to me when i did this and you will need a new ecu you probably fried the injector chip in the ecu. I went through 2 ecu's untill I found out that it was the wiring. The web page that has the swap info is wrong you cant reuse the factory injector wires. My car ran like shit wouldn't go over 50-60 and had a bad miss.
     
  7. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010

    :worthyp:
     
  8. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    So were you having the same problem with the timing?
     
  9. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    no timing problems just the injector wiring. the swap site for this says to just run two wires to the ecu and use the two wires from the dpfi and run them to the injectors, well this doesnt work it fried two computers til I fixed it, kinda made me mad since the ecu I was running was hard to find.
     
  10. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Well I'm having other troubles it seems. Maybe you can help... I thought I listed all the problems I was having but Ive asked around so much I apparently didn't, here it goes.

    I put a timing light on it, using the #1 cylinder, with the jumper(it made no difference)in. The red mark was at almost 3oclock on the crank! Thats 66 degrees off! I redid the timing and it was about the same. Took the timing cover off and it lines up perfectly. Notch on the crank at the pointer and up points up and the notches are in line with the head. This is a D15b2 so it says not to use the pointer at 7oclock.... anything? first time Ive messed with these belts too. I was able to slide the belt off and spin the cam pulley.. it wasnt easy to get on and off. Is the belt stretch causing this?
     
  11. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    Ok now are you timing the crank on the single white line or the three lines. If your not sure take the #1 plug out and use something small and long and make sure the piston is all the way up and the single white line is on the mark in the cover. your timing belt could be stretched. and are you turning the timing belt a quarter turn the loosening the tensioner and the re-tightening it this is needed to put the right tension on the belt.
     
  12. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    I thought on a d15b2 you had to use the middle notch not the single white one. Can you elaborate on the quarter turn thing. Im not doing that. I think we are getting somewhere now. I hope I dont have to rewire this thing.
     
  13. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    The 3 lines is what I was using. If you didnt understand me.
     
  14. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    did you put the motor in time with the three marks. cause if you did hurry up and move it to the single line to the left of the three lines
     
  15. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    I did! I could have swore the book said use the 3 lines alright Im gonna go see what happens. I'll get back to you in a few. Thanks for your time. U da man!
     
  16. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010

    Wait! You mean to the right? Cuz Im using the 3 to the left of the single line!
     
  17. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    No honda times off the three notches. that is only for when you do timing advance. and play with the distributer. when you are done putting the motor in time tighten the tensioner and then turn the motor a quarter turn and then loosen the tensioner and the re tighten it. this will make the belt tight and not spin. after this turn the motor with the ratchet two or three times then put it back in time to double check it.
     
  18. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    which way you looking at it
     
  19. Brent636r

    Brent636r New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Looking at it from the left side of the car. Makes sense thx for your time. Let ya know what happens.
     
  20. hondafreak513

    hondafreak513 New Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Location:
    O hi O
    which way it is just put the crank on the single mark. and then put the cam up and level with the head
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page