1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MSD switch for vtec

Discussion in 'ECU's, Electronics, and Tuning' started by hybrid4, Mar 18, 2004.

  1. hybrid4

    hybrid4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    I have an MSD rpm activated switch to trigger my vtec. do i really need to use a 30 amp relay? cant get the damn thing to work. help :unsure:
     
  2. kyleirwin

    kyleirwin Retired OG

    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Location:
    Vegas
    quit bein' getto and get the correct ecu for your engine.
     
  3. hybrid4

    hybrid4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    this is NOT my perminant prosess dude. i asked a simple question, please just answer it.
     
  4. hybrid4

    hybrid4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
  5. tab

    tab Super Moderator

    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Location:
    Aberdeen, Washington State
    Ummmm, don't you have the paperwork from MSD? I wouldn't even guess.
     
  6. hybrid4

    hybrid4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    the only thing is, everyone says to use the 30 amp relay and that just doesn't make sense. anyone have a pr3?
     
  7. cycloneb18c3

    cycloneb18c3 Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Location:
    New Jersey
    MSD's Website says this:
    The RPM Activated Switch, PN 8950, has two activation wires; one to ground a circuit and the other to open a circuit. Simply plug in an rpm module and wire the Switch to the circuit you want to activate. When the engine rpm reaches that amount, the circuit is activated and will remain on until the rpm falls below that amount.
    -for the relay-
    The SPST relay is rated at 30 amps with an input voltage of 12 volts DC. This relay is ideal for use with the MSD RPM Activated Switch PN 8950 when 12 volts needs to be switched to a high current device such as an air shifter, or nitrous solenoid.
     
  8. hybrid4

    hybrid4 Senior Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Location:
    Nashville,TN
    thank you for answering my question in detail. that is why i come here!
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page