1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Multimedia Desktop suggestions?

Discussion in 'Computers, Games, Electronics etc' started by reckedracing, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    so my sister just bought a camcorder with a HD and is looking for a new pc(or laptop) that will be able to edit/create videos, then burn them to dvd

    she has a baby on the way so i would assume this will get a good amount of use in the video department

    since she has a baby on the way next month, money's a corcern of course

    she suggested this from staples
    Staples.com®. that was easy®.
    Compaq Presario SR5310F Desktop PC
    Intel® Pentium® Dual-Core E2160(1.60GHZ) Processor
    1GB installed memory
    250GB hard drive
    SuperMulti DVD Burner with LightScribe Technology
    Monitor sold separately
    Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium
    1 year warranty
    about $300 on sale to $360 retail

    i found these and wanted opinions
    gateway (not my favorite brand)
    Gateway - 6000+ Desktop - GT5648E
    Gateway - 6000+ Desktop
    about 3.0ghz
    • AMD Athlonâ„¢ 64 X2 dual-core processor 6000+* for increased multitasking performance; improved security with Enhanced Virus Protection**; Cool'n'Quietâ„¢ Technology to minimize heat and noise
    • 3GB PC2-5300 DDR2 memory for multitasking power, expandable to 4GB
    • Multiformat DVD±RW/CD-RW drive with double-layer support records up to 8.5GB of data or 4 hours of video using compatible DVD+R DL or DVD-R DL media; also supports DVD-RAM
    • AMD LIVE! Smarter Digital Entertainment for all the screens of your digital life; you can manage, access, distribute, share and enjoy your digital content collection from virtually anywhere
    • AMD dual-core technology enables you to work or play with multiple programs without impacting performance
    • 1MB + 1MB L2 cache memory for efficient system processing
    • 320GB Serial ATA II hard drive with 8MB cache (7200 rpm); Gateway Portable Media Drive bay lets you easily add a second removable hard drive (Portable Media Drive not included)
    or an acer, also from best buy
    Acer - Aspire 4400+ Desktop - AM5100-U5300A
    Acer - Aspire 4400+ Desktop
    about 2.3 ghz

    • AMD Athlonâ„¢ 64 X2 dual-core processor 4400+* for increased multitasking performance; improved security with Enhanced Virus Protection**; Cool'n'Quietâ„¢ Technology to minimize heat and noise
    • 2GB DDR2 SDRAM for multitasking power, expandable to 8GB
    • Multiformat DVD±RW/CD-RW drive with double-layer support records up to 8.5GB of data or 4 hours of video using compatible DVD+R DL and DVD-R DL media; also supports DVD-RAM
    • AMD dual-core technology enables you to work or play with multiple programs without impacting performance
    • 512KB + 512KB L2 cache for efficient system processing
    • 500GB Serial ATA hard drive (7200 rpm)
    • ATI RADEON X1250 graphics with up to 256MB shared video memory as allocated by Windows Vista; high-definition audio (8-speaker support); HDMI connection
    • 7-in-1 media card reader supports CompactFlash Type I/II, Secure Digital, Memory Stick, Memory Stick Pro, Microdrive, SmartMedia and xD-Picture Card
    opinions? other suggestions?
     
  2. Briansol

    Briansol Admins Admin VIP

    Messages:
    21,451
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    1gb of memory is useless for video editing.... especially if it has vista on it. vista alone recommends 2gb.

    the later looks like a better buy.


    she'll probably want the media center stuff, so vista ultimate is probably the os to go with
     
  3. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    XP Pro. At LEAST 2 GBs (I have 4...and i do video editing on the side). and youll want a dual proc.

    i just want to say youll want to fresh install that hoe. cause gateway, compaq, hp, sony and dell are NOTORIOUS for bloatwere...im not sure about acer though...
     
  4. reckedracing

    reckedracing TTIWWOP VIP

    Messages:
    21,056
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Location:
    NY
    is this considered a dual proc?


    AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 dual-core processor
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2008
  5. reikoshea

    reikoshea HS Troll...And Mod Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    12,633
    Likes Received:
    193
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
  6. endlesszeal

    endlesszeal Senior Member

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
  7. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,622
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    not worth it. BB wont price match clearanced or open box items. trust me i work there. i read about 10 pages in that thread and only 2 or 3 people got it to work, and probably because the managers either didnt know the entire poilcy, or didnt care enough to deny the price match
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page