1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My GM 3bar MAP sensor instal

Discussion in 'Forced Induction' started by colorpros, Sep 29, 2003.

  1. colorpros

    colorpros Senior Member

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    I made my own alluminum mounting bracket and screwed it to the firewall.What do you guys think?

    [​IMG]]
     
  2. liquid00meth

    liquid00meth Senior Member

    Messages:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Location:
    Laconia, NH
    nice. Now lets see some 20+ PSI :) :)
     
  3. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD
    very nice, looks really clean. whats the maximum psi you can push with the 3 bar map? 1 bar is like 14 something right? so should you be able to push 42psi?(assuming you were built to handle it of course)
     
  4. colorpros

    colorpros Senior Member

    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003

    I think around 40 is right.I think stock honda will hold around 12 to 14...?
     
  5. SolReaver

    SolReaver Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    colorpros- very clean install. well done :thumbsup:


    now, as far as stock honda map sensors, this is what they "read"

    OBD0 .65 KG/cm2= 9.24 PSI

    OBD1-2 .75 kg/cm2 = 10.66 PSI

    With the GM 3 bar, up to 29 psi can be read

    3 bar= 44 psi

    44- 14.6666= ~29 psi
     
  6. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    its actually like 27.6 psi or something before it throws a code..
     
  7. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD

    why did you subtract the 14.666666? if its a 3 bar map sensor, shouldnt it read 3 bars? ie 44psi? im confused, someone explain.
     
  8. SolReaver

    SolReaver Senior Member

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002

    atmospheric pressure y0!!!!!

    we are in 14.6 psi now, the map sensor reads as long as you are on earth :)
     
  9. GSRCRXsi

    GSRCRXsi Super Moderator Moderator VIP

    Messages:
    9,623
    Likes Received:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Location:
    MD

    :doh: i shoulda known that :lol:
     
  10. phunky.buddha

    phunky.buddha Admin with a big stick Admin VIP

    Messages:
    28,465
    Likes Received:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas / Fort Worth, TX
    Atmospheric = 14.7psi, not 14.6...

    So the 3 bar MAP sensor would theoretically be able to read 29.4psi of boost.
     
  11. pissedoffsol

    pissedoffsol RETIRED

    Messages:
    49,693
    Likes Received:
    54
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2002
    Location:
    Retirement Home
    the sensor does, but the voltage gets too close, and the ecu (even a hondata) reads it as being over board.

    27.6 is the highest i've seen at sea level with no map codes flickering...

    AEM has a 3.5 bar map availble for their unit...
     
Verification:
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page